Brother Jonathan

The preacher stood on his doorstep, looking eastward.

The grim reaper was due soon.

Brother Jonathan couldn’t let the reaper walk with impunity through his parishioners.

The grim reaper and the devil conspired to send certain people to an early, uncalled for grave.

Those who sold their souls to the devil. Those whose hearts the conspirators turned to charcoal.

If Brother Jonathan couldn’t stop the reaper and the devil, he would ask they conduct their business as humanely as possible.

After all the grim reaper was calling by for him.

Written for Rattling Bones: Words to Write By #9

list of words used: preacher; doorstep; eastward; impunity; conspire; charcoal; humanely

@ phylor 2015

9 thoughts on “Brother Jonathan

  1. Yolanda Renee June 12, 2015 / 10:22 am

    Great use of the words provided! I like that you didn’t know the end until you arrived at it. Very cool writing. Yes, I will continue with the flash fiction challenge, they are a blast. Thanks for visiting my blog.

    Like

    • phylor June 12, 2015 / 12:47 pm

      Thanks Yolanda. I enjoyed my visit. Glad to hear you will be doing more flash fiction. It’s great fun and makes you really think about which words you choose.

      Like

    • phylor June 12, 2015 / 7:39 am

      I have another story (not on my blog) about the grim reaper and he came to mind. Adding him to the mix of a story is sure to bring out the Ooooh factor.

      Like

      • DELL CLOVER June 12, 2015 / 3:55 pm

        I like that–the “Ooooh” factor–you’re brilliant!

        Like

  2. loricarlson66 June 12, 2015 / 2:39 am

    That is great, Phylor! I love the use of the words and that the preacher is one to be called as well by the reaper… great writing!

    Like

    • phylor June 12, 2015 / 7:37 am

      Interesting words to use.
      I was going in a whole different direction in a poem. But revisiting the words, preacher stood out. And the rest led from there. I didn’t know the grim reaper was coming for him until the end.

      Like

  3. summerstommy2 June 11, 2015 / 10:54 pm

    Excellent take, I thought you did a great job with the words my friend…….

    Like

    • phylor June 12, 2015 / 7:37 am

      Thank you kind sir. I’m getting into wordle mode a few days early. Interesting words led to interesting commentary.

      Like

I love dialogue. Do you?

