Cyber-Cymbeline

“Words. Drawn. Spoken. Recorded: From Cave Drawings to Shakespeare in the Electronic Age.” No complete anonymity in this on-line course. Skyping put some patina on the illusionary self; a match between the virtual personae and the visual one.

I hesitated to open the last assignment. I enjoyed the experiences and challenges the course provided. Non-traditional assignments pulled me, as well as my words, into the light of a glowing screen. Most of us already registered for “Words. Written. Emailed. Texted: Shakespeare to Tweeter.” offered next semester. Connections made. Henry was designing a virtual Starbucks where we could hang out during our “summer vacation.”

I prepped myself. Beverages. Check. Extra cushion on kitchen chair. Check. Writing implements and notebooks. Check. Remaining undistracted. Hopefully check. I clicked on the link.

On the screen — 12 words. No instructions. No suggestions. Just 8 of Willy’s words. The rest was up to us.

I thought her
As chaste as unsunned snow.”
Cymbeline by William Shakespeare

Written for the Rattling Bones, Literary Saturday Prompt, June 13, 2015.  I’ve used versions of this device before. I want to take part, but the prompt doesn’t immediately create sparks. So, I write around it. {word count: 149}

4 thoughts on “Cyber-Cymbeline

  1. loricarlson66 June 15, 2015 / 12:17 pm

    Hey! You did great with it! I love that you created a story around those words :) shows great creative talent that you can find a use for something that doesn’t spark anything :)

    Like

    • phylor June 18, 2015 / 10:27 am

      Thank you. I’m just getting caught up in answering comments. I still have a lot of reading to do.

      Liked by 1 person

      • loricarlson66 June 18, 2015 / 5:16 pm

        *smiles* you are welcome!

        Like

I love dialogue. Do you?

