clocks

Clocktower

The tower stands as monument. When time mattered more. Factory whistles. Trolley cars. Shops.

Millers, miners, shop clerks, women typists, school children, government. All need the time told to them.

I never needed the time. Before or After. I judge by the wind and sun. At night, stars and moon.

Why time? What was so precious about time? Only when proletariat marched to the bloated aristocracy tune.

Funny. I should remember that history lesson. No need for history now.

The clock will chime. I will ignore it. I have many piles yet to go through. Many treasures yet to find.

Not nothing left After. Remnants of Before. When time mattered more.

Written, as a stream of consciousness piece for Sunday Photo Fiction, June 14, 2015

27 thoughts on “clocks

  1. OnChi June 15, 2015 / 1:37 pm

    Wow, what an amazing stream of consciousness piece! I don’t know if it’s supposed to be, but to me it speaks of post apocalyptic, especially at the end, which specifies an After and Before and now time doesn’t matter. Very creative. It would make a stunning first paragraph to a book!

    Like

    • phylor June 15, 2015 / 1:40 pm

      I was thinking post-apocalyptic. I was cryptic, I realize. But, it was how would time work when there was no time? I’ve had my head in a time period where clocks were not the way people told “time.”

      Thank you for the compliment! I wonder where the narrator would go then? You’ve given me an idea — Thanks again.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Susan Langer June 15, 2015 / 12:12 am

    Really unique to use SOC for writing to the prompt. It led me to poetry which in some ways is similar as I let the poem write itself. :)

    Like

  3. EagleAye June 14, 2015 / 8:59 pm

    I think this is lovely. I liked the comment about the proletariat serving their masters. Perhaps life lived the way the narrator lives it is better, guided by the surf and the sun and the moon. Well done!

    Like

    • phylor June 15, 2015 / 8:13 am

      There is something appealing about living as the sun, the seasons, the moon suggests. Our “civilized” concept of time has blown away the idea that night is night.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. DELL CLOVER June 14, 2015 / 6:49 pm

    I use to be quite “time-bound”–but it’s been a number of years now, since I wore a watch. So freeing!!!

    Like

    • phylor June 14, 2015 / 7:42 pm

      I never wore a watch until I was teaching — so I’d turn up on time, and to know how much longer I had to teach. :-)

      Like

  5. Francesca Smith June 14, 2015 / 6:18 pm

    Very interesting, and I agree, for in my opinion, the concept of time is a human invention and problem.

    Like

    • Francesca Smith June 14, 2015 / 6:41 pm

      Edit: when I write time, I mean clocks and time keeping.

      Like

      • phylor June 14, 2015 / 7:46 pm

        I read a fascinating piece on the rise of the time slave. A 19th century construct to fit into factory life. The workers didn’t have watches, but their bosses did.
        Why the fire stations where I live sound the alarm at 12 and 6. And the church bells tells me the hour, shadows, the time of day.
        Yet, if I go out into the world without a watch (to know what time the train comes or when my appointment is) I feel lost!

        Liked by 1 person

        • Francesca Smith June 14, 2015 / 8:14 pm

          That is a very interesting concept, and it would not surprise me if that were the case. I can imagine that Marx would not have been pleased with such a thing.

          Like

  6. phylor June 14, 2015 / 2:02 pm

    What I like about S of C is I have no idea where things will go! And the ending isn’t clear until I get three
    Thanks for the nice compliment.

    Like

  7. any1mark66 June 14, 2015 / 1:36 pm

    Nicely done. I love the dark tone add the contempt for the time.

    Like

    • phylor June 14, 2015 / 7:48 pm

      Thank you.
      After all our closeness to nuclear war is a clock ticking ever closer to mid-night.

      Like

      • any1mark66 June 14, 2015 / 7:50 pm

        Children of the 80’s were raised on the midnight hour of nuclear war. Always seemed strange the new day was no more days to come

        Like

        • phylor June 14, 2015 / 7:56 pm

          I was raised in the Super Power arms race days. It really did seem like there would be a nuclear war (and they would start it).
          I always found it strange that the authorities could say a “limited nuclear war” Just how is that possible?
          I like you comment: Always seemed strange the new day was no more days to come!

          Like

          • any1mark66 June 14, 2015 / 7:59 pm

            Queen had a song “Hammer to Fall” it about sums it up perfectly. “Here we stand and here we fall, history won’t care at all.

            Like

  8. luckyjc007 June 14, 2015 / 12:36 pm

    Nice one. Don’t let the time rule your life.

    Like

    • phylor June 14, 2015 / 2:00 pm

      I like the fact that until the Industrial Revolution, people worked to the seasons and the separation of day and night.
      I think we need to step back for time and technology. Take a deep breathe, and forge on unplugged.

      Like

    • phylor June 14, 2015 / 7:49 pm

      Exactly! It can be so easy to let time and technology interfere with or dominate your life.

      Like

      • phylor June 14, 2015 / 7:50 pm

        This should be with Lucky J.’s comment.

        Like

  9. Priceless Joy June 14, 2015 / 11:42 am

    I love how you used your SOC to write this piece. It was very meaningful. I also loved the last line and how it rhymed. Very nicely done!

    Like

    • phylor June 14, 2015 / 2:03 pm

      Joy — my response showed up at the top. Comment gremlins are causing me grief!

      Liked by 1 person

I love dialogue. Do you?

