blood red

- Zwobel

image: Zwobel

I should have stayed after the crash. I was wobbling across the commons, she was deep in thought as she unknowing completed the vertical arm of the cross

We struck in the middle of the undrawn image. The only sign of injury – her white shoes turning blood-red. So still, so perfect. So not mine.

I heard or thought I heard a noise. A voice calling. I hobbled away, both knees showing red through my pants, bike green from grass skid.

All my life, I bore the guilt. To take another human’s life. It weighed heavy; it crushed the things I would enjoy.

One day, I saw her – mesmerized I followed her adult image. To an office tower. To the 20th floor. To a television studio.

“Hey Molly,” shouted one of the crew. Coffee and donuts 90 degrees to the right.

I lost my chance for comfort, and she lost her sight.

Written for Mindlovemisery’s Menagerie Photo Challenge 65: Sadness

And, if flash fiction: 154 words

6 thoughts on “blood red

    • phylor June 16, 2015 / 10:59 pm

      Thank you.
      Great image to write to.

      Like

      • DELL CLOVER June 16, 2015 / 11:45 pm

        Indeed it is compelling–I’m not sure I still have time to work something up…

        Like

  1. phylor June 16, 2015 / 2:58 pm

    She was so white, expect for the shoes. I wondered if they were once white. I am behind in my reading. I hope to catch up before the 22th century, ;-o

    Like

    • phylor June 18, 2015 / 11:22 am

      Thank you. Especially as you create such powerful images with your words.

      Like

I love dialogue. Do you?

