master of the craft

PHOTO PROMPT - © Rochelle Wisoff-Fields

My father was a master craftsman with a dilemma. Traditionally, a son would apprentice to learn the wood-craft. Thus, continue the family name and business. Poor Father. His only child was a girl.

Though he knew he would be the butt of jokes at the ale house, I became his apprentice. “I can wear boy’s clothes”

My father thundered, “A daughter of mine shall wear not but a dress!”

As I did the final polishing of the sculpture soon to adorn the ceiling of a Lord and Lady’s parlour, I smiled.

Thought of father. I now wear men’s clothes. {word count: 99}

Written for Friday Fictioneers 17-19 June, 2015

49 thoughts on “master of the craft

  1. Sandra June 18, 2015 / 11:21 am

    I’m sure she’s much more comfortable now. Nicely done.

    Like

    • phylor June 18, 2015 / 11:23 am

      Thanks for the nice comment.
      I think so. Her father taught her the craft. Now she can work on her wardrobe. :-)

      Like

  2. ansumani June 18, 2015 / 10:07 am

    Love the strong message here on women’s strength and skill. Nicely done.

    Like

    • phylor June 18, 2015 / 10:19 am

      Thank you. I thought about the women artisans and craftspersons I knew. So I wrote them all into this story.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. micklively June 18, 2015 / 6:52 am

    A happy anthem to the myth of “women’s work”. Good piece.

    Like

    • phylor June 18, 2015 / 8:36 am

      Thank you.
      We talk of master craftsmen, perhaps forgetting that women are equally skilled.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. rochellewisoff June 18, 2015 / 6:05 am

    Dear Phylor,

    No doubt men’s clothing is more comfortable and better suited to the craft. Well written.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

    Like

    • phylor June 18, 2015 / 8:35 am

      Thanks Rochelle for the nice compliment.
      I can’t image what it would have been like apprenticing in a dress!
      I am way behind in reading other responses to this and other prompts. Hopefully I can play catch-up today.
      Another great prompt!

      Like

    • phylor June 18, 2015 / 8:33 am

      Thanks Claire!
      Like me, she did keep her father’s last name. I think family names are important, and give us a sense of who we are, and who are ancestors were.

      Like

        • phylor June 18, 2015 / 7:35 pm

          I kept mine. That’s who I was, and that’s who I am. I do have relatives who insist on addressing cards and such to Mrs. . . . . no matter how often I point out the fact that I’m not Mrs.

          Like

          • Claire Fuller June 19, 2015 / 2:59 am

            Yes, my mother-in-law still has difficulty with the fact that I didn’t take her son’s name.

            Like

  5. DELL CLOVER June 18, 2015 / 5:40 am

    An ex-friend criticized my “mannish” style of dress–that’s why she’s an “ex-friend”. At least my men’s pocket T’s are modest, compared to her “let your boobs hang out” style…

    Like

    • phylor June 18, 2015 / 8:32 am

      To each his own. I’m somewhere in the middle in terms of clothes, but I would never say some one dressed “mannish.” or like a whore. Well, not to their face. ;-)

      Like

      • DELL CLOVER June 18, 2015 / 5:07 pm

        I think I was most offended that she thought she had the right to “re-dress” me, that I was not acceptable as I am. Well, her loss…literally, since we’ve no contact anymore.

        Like

        • phylor June 18, 2015 / 7:36 pm

          It would be one thing if you asked her for fashion advice; another when she forces it on you.
          Her loss, your gain.

          Like

  6. Francesca Smith June 18, 2015 / 4:51 am

    Times have definitely changed. Trousers are comfy.

    Like

    • phylor June 18, 2015 / 5:11 am

      Have they ever!
      I can’t imagine wearing a dress with all the under stuff in the middle of summer!

      Liked by 1 person

  7. phylor June 17, 2015 / 9:14 pm

    Thank you, Yolanda! I figured if she could learn the craft in a dress, then she could put pants on when she is the master craftsperson. :-)

    Like

  8. Yolanda Renee June 17, 2015 / 8:53 pm

    Men’s clothes, but a woman’s skill. Lovely tale, well written.

    Like

I love dialogue. Do you?

