The Gathering

Six of us stood by the grave.

Smell of fresh earth

hole newly dug.

Next to my father.

Next to my conversationalist.

Linda reads a eulogy.

Flowers from my mother’s family

contrast the blackness of the

tombstone.

She wanted none of this.

I could not deny the grieving.

Husband and wife reunited

Mother’s best friend but a

few paces away.

A gathering of the living,

A gathering of the dead.

We say good bye to

my Mother,

each other.

Hugs and tears reaffirm

she mattered in people’s lives.

I tell my Father to go easy

“She is not

the wife you knew.”

One last word to my

mother.

“I did my best to fulfill

your wishes at the end

and now here.”

Ashes in a cherry wood box.

A resting place

so needed.

“You are now with the people

you cared most about.”

Two gatherings

one above ground

the other below.

Prosetry written for the Rattling Bones Wednesday poetry prompt: a gathering. (June 17, 2015)

11 thoughts on “The Gathering

  1. DELL CLOVER June 18, 2015 / 5:42 am

    Everyone’s already said how beautiful it is, so I’ll just add that I love the cherry wood box. Very much.

    Like

    • phylor June 18, 2015 / 8:22 am

      We were waiting for the funeral director to talk about the cremation. We saw the box and knew it was just right. Made locally, it really was a beautiful way to put my mother into her grave.

      Like

      • DELL CLOVER June 18, 2015 / 5:08 pm

        I’m certain it was–cherry wood is rich looking.

        Like

  2. loricarlson66 June 18, 2015 / 1:53 am

    Beautifully written Phylor… love all of the above and below, living and dead references. Made for a powerful poem!

    Like

    • phylor June 18, 2015 / 8:24 am

      Thanks Lori. It did seem like 2 gatherings were taking place. We honoured both.

      Liked by 1 person

      • loricarlson66 June 18, 2015 / 5:31 pm

        You are most welcome, Phylor… you did a wonderful job :)

        Like

  3. phylor June 17, 2015 / 9:21 pm

    Thank you. I was wondering what gathering I would write about. Been thinking of my father lately, so my mother’s death in 2010 seemed to be a way of talking about gatherings.

    Like

  4. HumaAq June 17, 2015 / 7:19 pm

    That’s beautifully written.. Many emotions in small post! Loved it

    Like

    • phylor June 21, 2015 / 10:41 am

      I missed your comment. Thank you. The theme of gathering brought back that day.

      Liked by 1 person

I love dialogue. Do you?

