rubble of life

I had to live with the rubble of life as a stepchild.

My sienna hair was in sharp contrast to Esmerald, my new “mother’s”, bleached blond coif.

My father, smitten, over-indulged Esmerald. On her bidding, three almost adult children accepted the invitation to live in my house.

Esmerald and her family sat like vultures, waiting for my father to die. I suspect they were all willing to nudge that event along.

I swore I and a trusted friend would watch over him should Esmerald and her clan grown too impatient.

I always suspected that Esmerald was a witch. She captivated my farther when mother was barely in the ground. A ghostwritten tale of the black arts practiced in the attic. I made myself washed-out, barely visible and climbed the narrow set of steps that drunkenly wove to a secret entrance.

Her voice resounded in the cramped space. Some sort of spell. I realized too late this spell was meant for me. {word count: 161}

Written for Rattling Bones, “Words to Write By” Prompt #10.

Words to use:

vulture
rubble
bleached
resound
{pistillate}
overindulge
ghostwritten
sienna
washed-out
stepchild

14 thoughts on “rubble of life

  1. loricarlson66 June 18, 2015 / 5:25 pm

    Oh wow! What a great ending! eliminate the threat, get all the money. Great story!

    Like

    • phylor June 18, 2015 / 7:40 pm

      When I read stepchild, I automatically thought of wicked stepmother. That certainly is a common theme.

      Liked by 1 person

      • loricarlson66 June 18, 2015 / 7:44 pm

        yes, but what a twist you gave it!

        Like

    • phylor June 18, 2015 / 7:45 pm

      In fairy tales and such, the stepmother is always referred to as “wicked.” I don’t think I want to psychoanalyze that!

      Liked by 1 person

      • loricarlson66 June 18, 2015 / 7:47 pm

        lol true :D

        Like

    • phylor June 18, 2015 / 7:44 pm

      Thanks Dell. A take on the old wicked stepmother theme. Reading stepchild as one of the words sent me in that crazy direction.

      Like

  2. HumaAq June 18, 2015 / 4:30 pm

    Oohh creepss!! Lol. Good story and nice use of words

    Like

    • phylor June 18, 2015 / 8:13 pm

      It’s that word stepchild — I used the familiar theme of the wicked/evil stepmother. I hope all of them aren’t like Esmerald and her kids.

      Liked by 1 person

    • phylor June 18, 2015 / 8:14 pm

      Best not to have a black magic witch as a stepmother.

      Like

I love dialogue. Do you?

