Songs of My Father

When I was small (ages 2 to 4), Sundays were super-special. My dad and I went on adventures in his Karman Ghia sports car. Along country roads, full throttle.  “Don’t tell your mother what the speedometer reads.”

I giggled and clapped my hands as farms, fields, and woods passed by my window. My father slowed down, took his hands off the wheel (driving with his knee), clap along with me and shout “Weeee.”

My father treated me like a short adult. No talking down to a small child’s level. As a result, by 4, I had a large vocabulary. Not that all the words were, well, what a 4 year old should necessarily know.

You see, on our trips, he taught me age-inappropriate songs.* I knew what you did with a drunken sailor. I knew what the boys of the North Atlantic Squadron were up to. I sang the lyrics without actually understanding what the song was all about. Just as I nodded solemnly during our conversations as if I understood.

At home, I sang whatever age-inappropriate song I learned. My mother glared at my father. He just grinned. {word count: 190}

Written for Mindlovemisery’s Menagerie, Tale Weaver #18: Fathers in a Flash, (June 18, 2015)

 * When she visited, his sister taught me age-inappropriate poetry. At that point, my mother gave up any hope of me being a normal child.

14 thoughts on “Songs of My Father

  1. julespaige June 18, 2015 / 3:06 pm

    While my post on ‘father’ was all fiction, you have reminded me of those brief yet special times I spent with my father. Normal… what is normal? Learning, becoming intelligent and loving the arts – that should be normal :)

    Like

    • phylor June 18, 2015 / 3:27 pm

      I think my common sense mother coming from one crazy family and marrying into another one hoped I would turn out to be “normal” in her understanding of the word. To me, normal is fitting in. That’s something I never did. Maybe normal is my and others’ uniqueness.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. HumaAq June 18, 2015 / 9:40 am

    That’s a sweet story.. Why fathers always do that? Lol, its just a special bond :)

    Like

    • phylor June 18, 2015 / 10:17 am

      I think there is something about fathers and daughters. Finding common ground can be difficult, especially as the child grows older. But as I found with my father, later those bonds can be resparked and enjoyed.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. summerstommy2 June 18, 2015 / 5:50 am

    Great take on the father’s day prompt, what fun you must have had….loved your tale phylor…..

    Like

    • phylor June 18, 2015 / 8:07 am

      It was fun. As I got older, and my dad sold the car, we didn’t spend Sundays like that. However, for the last 8 years of his life, we lived close enough to visit regularly. Every visit was like an adventure in the Carmen Ghia.

      Liked by 1 person

        • phylor June 18, 2015 / 8:09 am

          Yeah. He died unexpectedly in 1991. Still miss him — especially during Stanley Cup and World Series — watched together a lot.

          Like

          • summerstommy2 June 18, 2015 / 8:10 am

            Yes they are things you the times you spent together. For me it was the Saturday afternoons when we tried to win at the horse races.

            Like

            • phylor June 18, 2015 / 8:30 am

              You wrote a wonderful piece about that for FFAW. I think we find the ways we can be with our fathers. Sometimes what we have in common might be uncommon.

              Like

  4. DELL CLOVER June 18, 2015 / 5:44 am

    A “normal child”–now, I wonder just what that might be….I doubt I’d qualify and that suits me fine today.

    Like

    • phylor June 18, 2015 / 8:08 am

      Given my paternal and maternal families, I never had a hope of being normal! Even if I could sing and recite age-inappropriate material. :-)

      Like

      • DELL CLOVER June 18, 2015 / 5:09 pm

        Yes, I stopped striving to be “normal”, “fit in” so long ago–very freeing to just be “glorious me”.

        Like

I love dialogue. Do you?

