A Cure For Insomnia

To sleep! perchance to dream: ay, there’s the rub;
For in that sleep of death what dreams may come.
Hamlet, Prince of Denmark by William Shakespeare

To sleep perchance to dream was her mantra. Sleep deprivation takes it’s toll.

She had long conversations with her dead brother. The Mad Hatter came over for tea.

Sleep 2 hours. Wake up. Sleep 1/2 hour wake up.

Even the yummy gummy Melatonins didn’t work.

Up all night, scrolling through blogs.

She awoke with impressions of the keyboard on her face.

“Gotta follow that Phylor’s Blog – sure puts me to sleep.”

Written for the Rattling Bones Saturday Literary Prompt 11.

PS: I have sleep issues, and my mantra really is “to sleep, perchance to dream.”

15 thoughts on “A Cure For Insomnia

  1. loricarlson66 June 21, 2015 / 9:56 pm

    This is awesome, Phylor… so glad we both enjoy the same Shakespeare quote :D and that you use it as a mantra. Sorry though that you have a rough time with sleep. I concur. Sleep eludes me often! Your blog, however, is definitely not a snoozer! It is fascinating and always keeps me on my toes!

    Like

    • phylor June 22, 2015 / 2:18 pm

      Thank you, Lori, for the nice compliment.
      I used to offer those with insomnia a copy of my work at Grad School — sure to put you out after the introduction!

      Liked by 1 person

      • loricarlson66 June 22, 2015 / 2:31 pm

        *laughs* oh I doubt that would have an effect on me :D I’ve read some heavy stuff over the years and still manage to stay awake lol

        Like

  2. DELL CLOVER June 21, 2015 / 5:37 am

    Oh, bless your heart! This is marvelous, though I’m so sorry you don’t sleep well. I can go all night, writing & reading blogs, then crash like a log between 5 and 6am, and get up around 1pm and start all over again. And your blog is anything BUT a soporific–otherwise I’d be yawning now, at 2:37am.

    Like

    • phylor June 22, 2015 / 2:19 pm

      Thank you, Dell!
      I had to give the poor girl something to fall asleep to. Btw, I have awakened with my face on the keyboard, not knowing I even fell asleep.

      Like

      • DELL CLOVER June 22, 2015 / 4:01 pm

        Seriously? I’d think that would be a bit painful, wake you up. Sounds like the modern version of the old “chenille bedspread marks” of 50’s housewives who caught a nap in the afternoon…

        Like

        • phylor June 22, 2015 / 11:00 pm

          I use a laptop on a kitchen table, so all I have to do is lean forward. :-D

          Like

  3. summerstommy2 June 21, 2015 / 12:18 am

    I did smile at the thought of your blog putting folk to sleep….never……how could anyone say that…..I ask you……great take on the prompt friend…

    Like

    • phylor June 21, 2015 / 4:23 am

      If you asked my students, they would say my lectures had the same effect. After a night of partying or studying, no better place to sleep than my lecture hall. :>

      Like

      • summerstommy2 June 21, 2015 / 4:25 am

        Hmmm yes well I had a few of your colleagues during my time at uni. When I was in Japan it was common for kids to sleep in class as they had such long days.

        Like

        • phylor June 21, 2015 / 4:28 am

          I’ve heard they work extremely hard!
          An art history prof who of course shows a lot of slides (before power point, etc), used to throw in ones of his family on vacation to see if anyone was awake in the darkened lecture hall.

          Like

          • summerstommy2 June 21, 2015 / 4:35 am

            I had a lecturer like that when we did ancient history, he used slides of his holidays

            Like

          • wendy June 21, 2015 / 3:35 pm

            That is hilarious! My art history prof should have done that! Of course I was always rapt with great attention during that class, but I did see many who were dozing off.
            I don’t doze off when reading your blog…but sometimes I don’t get around to anyone’s blogs for a while.
            I have sleep problems too. Some days I’ll sleep just fine, other days I won’t sleep at all. The curses of chronic illnesses for sure, but I could never get on the computer when I’m awake, the light from it would keep me awake forever! For me it’s reading…my Kindle is my friend, the old kind, not the bright Fire.

            Like

            • phylor June 22, 2015 / 2:22 pm

              My reply as usual as disappeared. I mentioned that I had a friend who taught up in the Far North. She said the place was fine as long as you wanted to sleep the 1/2 year the sun never shone, and be up for the 1/2 year the sun never set!
              I binge read (no Kindle) so I might be up all night if the book catches my attention.
              Thanks for dropping by!

              Like

I love dialogue. Do you?

