I rove the land no more

Ahem, cough, cough.

The air is full of

dust from ancient hay.

I sit here, entertained

by pigeons and rats.

While I die a slow death

a blood puddle

beneath my body.

Carthrtisis stiffens

hinges, bolts.

Dirt fills my seized engine.

To think I once

took on

rushing streams

mountain passes

roads of mud

sidled by where

the ground dropped off

to tomorrow

Cross-country chases

soft, curvy hills

Knew the land

like a surveyor.

Light nearly blinds

my shattered eyes.

Voices, equipment noises.

I hear “Perfect

We’ll start the season of ‘What’s in the Barn’ with this one.”

What's in the Barn? (2013) Poster

It really is a reality show!*

Written for Mindlovemisery’s Menagerie Writing Prompt #112: Car Personification.

*Don’t ask why I know the line up of shows on the Velocity channel.

8 thoughts on “I rove the land no more

  1. Candy June 21, 2015 / 10:38 pm

    Ah, a slow decline into obscurity. Well said!

    Like

    • phylor June 22, 2015 / 10:58 pm

      Thank you.
      There might be a chance at restoration; that the land rover will come out of obscurity. Always like the thought of a second chance.

      Like

    • phylor June 21, 2015 / 8:24 am

      When you said “personification,” I thought “my life history.” :-)

      Like

  2. summerstommy2 June 21, 2015 / 5:55 am

    Great response. Isn’t this task so much like describing our own lives… once we sprinted after the bus, now we waddle to the stop and wait for the next one……

    Like

    • phylor June 21, 2015 / 8:23 am

      I really was never that good at sprinting. Seems I’ve been waddling for quite some time!

      Like

I love dialogue. Do you?

