the green messenger

The sun setting behind buildings

Summer Solstice

Ripe morning of possibilities.

Stonehenge madness as the pagan/wiccan worship.

But I wait until the set of the solstice sun, beams low and prismatic.

That is when he comes.

The green messenger. Giving me my orders. Expanding on the plot.

How well goes the infiltration. How well we hide in human skins.

Too bad my view is blocked by bars and wire mesh.

I press my hand against the glass as the last of the solstice sun disappeared.

No answering green suction cup froggish fingers return the pressure.

Anxiety over comes me. Where is my green messenger this year?

Written, stream of consciousness, for Sunday Photo Fiction (a wonderful way to start a Sunday) June 21, 2015

And to all who celebrate Summer Solstice and/or Father’s Day, all the best. Enjoy the special day.

9 thoughts on “the green messenger

  1. Priceless Joy June 21, 2015 / 4:13 pm

    How beautiful, sad, and creepy all at the same time! Love it! Happy Summer Solstice!

    Like

    • phylor June 21, 2015 / 5:30 pm

      The same to you! I do like the equinoxes and the solstices. I find myself penning obscure poetry around that time.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. EagleAye June 21, 2015 / 4:11 pm

    Lovely and striking images in this one. It’s beautiful and sad all at once.

    Like

    • phylor June 21, 2015 / 7:51 pm

      Thank you. The green flash in the picture and today being solstice kinda melded!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. wendy June 21, 2015 / 3:41 pm

    Do you feel imprisoned?
    Happy Solstice.
    over 14 hours of daylight…that doesn’t help us sleep at all does it?

    Like

    • phylor June 21, 2015 / 7:53 pm

      A friend used to teach in the Far North. She said it was fine if you wanted to sleep during the 1/2 year the sun never rose, and stay awake for the 1/2 year the sun never set.
      I’m not sure — I haven’t had withdrawal yet because a green messenger has yet to visit!

      Like

  4. Francesca Smith June 21, 2015 / 12:25 pm

    Stonehenge is a wondrous place to visit.
    Great take and lovely vivid images.

    Like

    • phylor June 21, 2015 / 7:55 pm

      I would love to visit Stonehenge! Recently saw a program on how, by using cutting-edge technology, scientists have been able to “map” walls, homes, and other religious sites linked to Stonehenge buried a millennium ago.

      Liked by 1 person

I love dialogue. Do you?

