It’s always been the water

Day_294_of_365_-_Friendship

My mother lived in a town with more eccentrics per capita than other towns with similar populations.

I know. I did the research.

More self-talkers as walkers. More cat, bag and Avon ladies.

More old men arguing with other old men. Hard to get a seat in the park.

More photographers of old men arguing. And of Avon ladies.

A stroll down any street revealed the madness. Who paints their lawn in patriotic colours?

Where else would someone check to see if their garbage had been ticketed rather than assume the truck broke down?

Logic is replaced by lunacy. Over heard conversations boogle the head.

“It only happens when cats have kittens.” “What if they have puppies?” “Then it’s sure to rain until the reservoir’s dry.”

A stop at the donut shop is having tea with the Mad Hatter. A date with chaos.

I always thought it was the water.

The craziness common denominator.

I filtered all I drank.

I forgot about osmosis; the tiny pores in the skin.

So, on any given yadseut:

“’Twas brillig, and the slithy toves, [d]id gyre and gimble in the wabe:

All mimsy were the borogoves, [a]nd the mome raths outgrabe.”*

Concocted for Rattling Bones, Tuesday Photo Prompt 6.

* Jabberwocky, Lewis Carroll

11 thoughts on “It’s always been the water

  1. C.C. July 1, 2015 / 1:43 pm

    I think I may know this town ;-)

    Like

    • phylor July 2, 2015 / 8:22 pm

      I think it ends up in an Indigo Girls song, too.

      Like

  2. loricarlson66 June 23, 2015 / 2:54 pm

    Oh Phylor this is brilliant! I love how you worked the prompt in without making it the focus of the story and the Jabberwocky at the end is perfect! I tell ya, you writers here on WP never cease to amaze me!

    Like

    • phylor June 23, 2015 / 5:04 pm

      I’m glad you enjoy what word press has to offer!
      My mother did live in a town with a lot of wacky people. I did say there must be something in the water, a lot.

      Liked by 1 person

      • loricarlson66 June 23, 2015 / 5:07 pm

        *laughs* the only time that got said around my small town was when a lot of women suddenly got pregnant… lmdao! You continue to crack me up :D Thank you!

        Like

        • phylor June 23, 2015 / 5:09 pm

          Oh boy, then you’d love some of the stories that involve my mother and her neighbours!

          Liked by 1 person

          • loricarlson66 June 23, 2015 / 5:12 pm

            hahaha! you are going to have to write them so I can read them!

            Like

I love dialogue. Do you?

