The Conversation

This week’s photo prompt is provided by Sonya O. Thank you Sonya

I came to mourn. Not a loved one. Not a pet.

I came to grieve over losing myself.

Lost in a world fueled by self-pity in bottles.

Wandering between bed to bed, never lying down my head.

No-one who holds me, needs me, loves me.

I sit with my back against ancient guardian tree.

Your name is vaguely visible.

Suzanna Moody

Born November 1812. Died May 1842.

Catherine

Born May 1842 Died May 1842

I said I am sorry that you died in childbirth.

But your tiny daughter joined you.

I ask what motherhood would have been like.

I inquire as to the happiness of your life.

I tell you what I think is my sad tale.

Through tears, I make a decision.

Thank you Suzanna and Catherine.

I will be back with gloves and clippers.

Then with soap and water.

I have found myself.

In conversations.

In abandoned graveyard.

They need me. {word count: 150}

Written for Flash Fiction for Aspiring Writers, Week of 06-24-2015

27 thoughts on “The Conversation

  1. Ameena k.g June 27, 2015 / 6:18 am

    What a way to write on today’s prompt. We all have places where we go to clear our head, her’ sis a graveyard but it worked perfectly for her. Love the wordings and the prose-like tune to it.

    Like

    • phylor June 27, 2015 / 9:27 am

      Thank you.
      The graveyard was her solitude and her saviour.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. afairymind June 25, 2015 / 5:19 pm

    A great take on the prompt! Hopefully she’ll be much happier now she’s found a purpose. :)

    Like

  3. mandibelle16 June 25, 2015 / 1:04 pm

    Wonderful poem. I’m glad the narrator found what she needed to.

    Like

    • phylor June 25, 2015 / 1:10 pm

      Thank you.
      I’m glad she found a way to turn her life around and be of use to her new companions.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. John Yeo June 25, 2015 / 1:18 am

    Nice work Phylor ~ An intriguing take on the prompt ~

    Like

  5. Francesca Smith June 24, 2015 / 8:11 pm

    Graveyards are fascinating places far removed from the maddening world.
    Great take on the picture prompt, as it conjured many peaceful and vivid images.

    Like

    • phylor June 24, 2015 / 9:28 pm

      I like graveyards exactly because they are, as you say, removed from the maddening world. I find it calming to walk through, and interesting to read the tombstones. No cemetery close by, but there is one I’ve wanted to explore I can reach by train and foot.

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Candy June 24, 2015 / 7:18 am

    Such a hopeful ending to your story!

    Like

    • phylor June 24, 2015 / 9:05 am

      I had many conversations with my father as I stood in front of his tombstone.
      I wanted to write a potential happy ending for a change.

      Liked by 1 person

  7. luckyjc007 June 24, 2015 / 6:39 am

    Beautifully done! We can all learn a lesson reading this. Great line..I came to grieve over losing myself. She found her way back. :)

    Like

    • phylor June 24, 2015 / 9:18 am

      Thank you.
      I think she found her purpose when she realized the grave yard and it’s inhabitants needed her. I think we all want to be needed on some level

      Like

  8. Priceless Joy June 23, 2015 / 5:33 pm

    This is really beautiful. She has found herself by losing herself in the gravestones. Now she is going to take care of the maintenance of the graveyard. Beautiful story Phylor.

    Like

    • phylor June 23, 2015 / 9:40 pm

      Thank you. It’s a combination of experiences that fit your prompt picture so well.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Priceless Joy June 23, 2015 / 9:53 pm

        Your experiences sure came out excellent for this prompt!

        Like

  9. DELL CLOVER June 23, 2015 / 5:12 pm

    This one would be hard to pass up–so I’ve bookmarked it for later writing today.

    Like

    • phylor June 23, 2015 / 9:43 pm

      Thank you, Dell. I have an affinity to old, abandoned graveyards. And grave yards in general. When I taught, and there was a grave yard handy, I’d take my class and ask them to tell me stories/answer questions based on the information on the tombstones — especially since the older stones have a lot more information, and that information is fading fast. Sigh.

      Like

      • DELL CLOVER June 23, 2015 / 10:01 pm

        I too have that affinity–hard to express the draw: the mysteries, presence….

        Like

I love dialogue. Do you?

