frozen

image

One minute, the square full of life. Sounds. Smells. Motion.

Then. Silence. Stillness. People frozen in place.

Living statues of that moment.

Homeless man. Boy with bike.

Woman with baby carriage. Street vendor.

Mime. Children with balloons.

A time-stamped portrait of urban life.

Frozen: 2015 Living Statue Convention.

Manhattan, New York City.

 

A very short “cheat” on Mindlovemisery’s Menagerie Tale Weaver Prompt # 19 : Locked-In.

Just the beginning . . .

14 thoughts on “frozen

  1. Bastet July 5, 2015 / 5:01 am

    Nice … I enjoyed the post whether a cheat or not … these mimes (the first I’d ever seen was in Barcelona) are really fantastic and mesmerize me… bravo!

    Like

    • phylor July 6, 2015 / 5:05 am

      I’ve yet to view one personally. I’m sure in the closest big city they are among the street performers. I will value the site having written to a prompt about these incredible mimes.

      Like

      • Bastet July 6, 2015 / 12:54 pm

        They really are fantastic … hope you get to see them soon!

        Like

    • phylor June 28, 2015 / 8:10 pm

      Is she spectacular?
      I was fascinated by what I found on the web about living statues, how to make the costumes, how to paint yourself up.

      Liked by 1 person

      • eclecticoddsnsods June 29, 2015 / 12:46 am

        oh really? I havn’t been so diligent as to look that up, but i just ache when I see them imagining how their muscles must be after hours of standing x

        Like

    • phylor June 26, 2015 / 9:23 pm

      I tried to leave a comment on your blog, but it didn’t want to seem to stick. So, I will comment here.
      Your story is terrifically written. And horrifically scary.
      Any mention of H.P. Lovecraft is always a bonus.

      Like

  2. DELL CLOVER June 25, 2015 / 5:53 pm

    This is nice–I especially like “time-stamped”.

    Like

    • phylor June 26, 2015 / 8:57 am

      Thanks Dell. Are you going to write about being a statue? I think you could do a good job of it.

      Like

      • DELL CLOVER June 26, 2015 / 5:41 pm

        I don’t know, it seems quite the stretch…but because you’ve asked so nicely, I’ll have to give it another think…

        Like

  3. phylor June 25, 2015 / 2:27 pm

    Your woman is a good example of how elaborate the costumes are, and probably uncomfortable. I don’t have the discipline to sit still!

    Like

  4. summerstommy2 June 25, 2015 / 2:14 pm

    They have always fascinated me the discipline needed to successfully be one.

    Like

I love dialogue. Do you?

