Ah, when men & women doth conspire

I feel within me
A peace above all earthly dignities,
A still and quiet conscience.
Henry VIII by William Shakespeare.

The Rattling Bone’s Literary Saturday prompt #12 is the above quote from Shakespeare. What lies below, well . . .

image courtesy of 7online.com (ABC, New York City)

Free Shakespeare in the Park

Ah, when men & women doth conspire,

Shakespeare’s words shall still inspire.

When poets write of love’s rebuke,

Shakespeare doth do so, to boot.

When lovers sigh of sad endings,

Shakespeare writes of love’s pending.

When philosophers ponder conscience

Shakespeare’s response doth be raucous!

For every grievance you doth got

Shakespeare has at least one plot.

Though answering the prompt in rhyme is big of me

I shall end thus leaving Shakespeare a scrap of dignity.

 

@ phylor 2015

20 thoughts on “Ah, when men & women doth conspire

    • phylor July 6, 2015 / 8:23 am

      Thank your for your kind compliment! Poor Shakespeare :)

      Liked by 1 person

  1. loricarlson66 June 29, 2015 / 1:44 am

    This is amazing, Phylor… I always enjoy your work, but this one is great with the Shakespearean theme and rhyme :)

    Like

    • phylor June 29, 2015 / 4:40 am

      Thanks, Lori!
      I’m pretty sure I stole the first line from Shakespeare. Ever now and then, I write in rhyme again.

      Liked by 1 person

      • loricarlson66 June 29, 2015 / 9:23 am

        It’s okay to borrow from the Masters :) it makes for some interesting poetry sometimes :D and yes, every now and again Catharine sends me rhymes… not often, but when she gets on a roll, they spill out for days… *laughs* Enjoyed your rhymes :)

        Like

        • phylor June 29, 2015 / 12:09 pm

          Thank you for your kind reply. On your judgment do I rely.

          Liked by 1 person

          • loricarlson66 June 29, 2015 / 12:35 pm

            *grins* still got that rhyming thing going on… your muse is in overdrive :D

            Like

            • phylor June 29, 2015 / 1:12 pm

              She just came back from one of her spa weeks, so she has more energy than I do. I don’t get spa weekends, let along weeks!

              Liked by 1 person

              • loricarlson66 June 29, 2015 / 1:55 pm

                Hahaha! One of my muses, Evelyn, goes to Hawaii quite frequently… Catharine rarely takes a vacation, but if she does, she never goes far… damn muses have better lives than we do! lol

                Like

                • phylor June 29, 2015 / 3:05 pm

                  I like that you have named your muses! Mine won’t divulge that information!
                  I agree that the muses have better lives! I’ve never been to Hawaii either, ;o

                  Liked by 1 person

                  • loricarlson66 June 29, 2015 / 3:11 pm

                    Mine all revealed their names, although Evelyn has been with me since I was a young child and didn’t divulge her name until I was in my early 20s… Catharine immediately gave me her name and Stefano, who is really an animus and not necessarily a muse, immediately divulged his too… he is my Spanish knight :D

                    Like

  2. summerstommy2 June 27, 2015 / 9:34 pm

    He would not mind you bending his dignity as you did. Many has been the time we have played with his language, manipulated his characters, performed his works in so many varied ways….great take on the prompt, must try and think of something but I may be on holiday, well my muses are I am sure….

    Like

    • phylor June 27, 2015 / 9:48 pm

      Well, I hope you and your muses are on the good sort of holiday. Chosen, not imposed!

      Liked by 1 person

      • summerstommy2 June 27, 2015 / 10:08 pm

        Its ok they found a challenge to play with…..not this one though…..

        Like

        • phylor June 28, 2015 / 8:11 pm

          Good. I wouldn’t want to think they deserted you totally. Or go for spa weeks like mine does.

          Like

I love dialogue. Do you?

