City Hall

Monday’s Finish the Story is a photo prompt for flash fiction with a twist. Barbara Beecham provides the picture and the first sentence we riff off. We have 50 to 150 words to tell the story. Below is my flash.

If you haven’t already, come along and play the game. Good way to start a Monday!

© 2015, Barbara W. Beacham

Grandpa and Uncle Earl

“The Mayor and the town manager waved as their next victim approached.”

My extended family is from Sherman. Heck, we are the only inhabitants of Sherman.

City council meetings go just fine. As long as Aunt Sue is speaking to Second-cousin Grace. Or, Uncle Earl hasn’t borrowed (stolen) his brother-in-law’s power tools for the billionth time. And my grandfather isn’t mayor (again).

The last city hall burnt down when Third-Cousin Jimmy, only nine, drove his father’s John Deere lawn mower straight through the building like mustard on a hot dog. That was the most excitement Great-Aunt Lilly had in a while.

Seeing there are so many Shermans in Sherman, quick as a bat, the new city hall stood proudly in front of the old one . City hall raising is my family’s specialty.  In fact, we sell quite a few in the Okefenokee swamp every year to passing tourists.

Uncle Earl and Granddad just finished waving at folks with out of state plates.

word count: 150

32 thoughts on “City Hall

    • phylor June 30, 2015 / 9:18 pm

      Thanks!
      This was fun to write. I went into extended family mode.

      Like

    • phylor June 30, 2015 / 3:38 am

      Especially if you live in Sherman City. ;)

      Like

  1. Candy June 29, 2015 / 10:18 pm

    Funny! I guess it’s all “relative”!

    Like

  2. DELL CLOVER June 29, 2015 / 6:52 pm

    This just rose to my NEW FAVES list–hilarious, I love it!

    Like

    • phylor June 29, 2015 / 9:02 pm

      I just thought my dysfunctional family and the rest fell into place. The town manager really does look like my great-uncle!

      Like

      • DELL CLOVER June 29, 2015 / 10:13 pm

        Oh my–it’s a gift when we can finally find humor in our dysfunctional families…I’m not quite there yet.

        Like

        • phylor June 30, 2015 / 3:33 am

          There is a side of me that tries to find the humour in less than perfect situations. Much depends on the why, how, and the way in which a family is dysfunctional. Some dysfunctions are dark and deep. Those are much harder to find humour in.
          Eccentricism is a prominent feature of maternal and paternal family trees. So, I have lots of role models.
          There were relatives I needed to forgive before I became too broken to be fixed. With some of the anger and bitterness gone, the way I view my family changed.
          Blogging my fictional autobiography under a pen name means I can open up about me, and about my family.

          Like

          • DELL CLOVER June 30, 2015 / 4:13 am

            This is so good, Phylor. And yes, eccentricities are usually quite amusing, versus the deep dark dysfunction. I use a pen name also–I don’t know if I’ll ever be brave enough to complete my “genuine/authentic” credo by revealing true identity. I think about it sometimes, because I realize that my fear is totally irrational. I mean seriously, so what if my siblings would actually be interested in reading poetry blogs and stumble upon me? The odds are miniscule, but I’m still afraid of their mocking/humiliating behavior that makes me feel so “nothing”. And I’m not nothing anymore. I’m estranged from them by choice, so that I could become a “something/someone”. Blather, blather–it’s the heat…(good excuse?)

            Like

            • phylor June 30, 2015 / 4:19 am

              It makes sense. I reveal things about myself and other people. There is no way they would discover my blog, but they would recognize themselves.
              If siblings are the mocking sort, all the more reason to keep truths hidden.
              You definitely aren’t “nothing,” and its great that you feel it and acknowledge it. That way of thinking means changing yourself image.

              Like

              • DELL CLOVER June 30, 2015 / 4:24 am

                Thank you so much for your input–it takes a lot of hard work to change an ingrained poor self-image. I don’t want to risk losing ground, so best to stay camouflaged a bit. Sometimes I tell myself “they” don’t deserve to know who I am now, that they wouldn’t appreciate it anyway. I don’t wish them ill, but my gut tells me they’d prefer to keep me in the old box–and I put that out for the trash in 2011, so…done. Thanks again for chatting with me about this–I appreciate YOU. And now I’m going to ponder that photo prompt you nudged me to try–with the angel…I’m getting the flicker of an idea…

                Like

  3. Priceless Joy June 29, 2015 / 1:05 pm

    Enjoyed your cute story! My favorite paragraph is the third paragraph! Cute.

    Like

    • phylor June 29, 2015 / 1:27 pm

      There is a John Deere lawn mover sticking out of the collapsed building. Just the perfect entertainment in Sherman.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. thecoastalquill June 29, 2015 / 12:52 pm

    Oh my.. I think some of these Sherman’s might be my relatives!!! Love this, what a wonderful and dysfunctional family!!!

    Like

    • phylor June 29, 2015 / 1:25 pm

      The dysfunction family is more truth than fiction. Does that mean we are related? ;)

      Like

  5. ansumani June 29, 2015 / 12:34 pm

    Hilarious story of the Sherman family! Well done.

    Like

    • phylor June 29, 2015 / 1:28 pm

      Thank you. It was fun to write.

      Like

  6. Yolanda Renee June 29, 2015 / 11:35 am

    Hi Phylor, thanks for the comments on my blog, and your name always shows. Loved this, especially the descriptive background of the family members. Interesting blue color isn’t it!

    Like

    • phylor June 29, 2015 / 11:55 am

      Love the blue. Shows good taste among the Shermanites!
      And the town manager looks like my great-uncle so maybe there are more ties to Sherman than I knew!

      Like

  7. phylor June 29, 2015 / 11:30 am

    The picture is fantastic! Might I ask where it was taken?

    Like

  8. babso2you June 29, 2015 / 9:47 am

    Well done Phylor! I enjoyed your story. Thank you for another excellent contribution to the MFtS challenge and be well… ^..^

    Like

I love dialogue. Do you?

