5/5 Challenge Day One: Strange Dreams

Ladyleemanila invited me to join the 5/5 Day Challenge. Julia of Julia’s Place asks participants post a themed picture and a 100 word piece of flash fiction for 5 days in a row.  Technically, I should nominate someone every day to participate. My general rule with awards/challenges is not to invite/nominate other bloggers. The challenge is on day 2: at last we are free. However, I’m still on Day One: Strange Dreams.

koi in the sparkle of spring
koi in the sparkle of spring

Keeper of the Koi

She is the keeper of the koi. As dawn spreads across the horizon, she is greeted by hungry fish making kissy-faces.

“Good morning. Any night visitors?”

Condition of protective netting tells the story.

Counting the squiggly swishy fish isn’t easy. “Count: 1 … 14.” All safe.

“Breakfast.” Sprinkles the flakes. Feeding frenzy; flashes of yellow, orange and black.

Ritual repeated as last light of day sparkles on the water of the pond.

Looking up at the blinkered windows of the house, she sighs.

“Why abandon the koi?”

She shakes off the strange dream.

She is the one left behind. {100}

3 thoughts on “5/5 Challenge Day One: Strange Dreams

    • phylor July 1, 2015 / 9:53 pm

      Oh, I didn’t know koi was in in the cyberverse!

      Like

      • DELL CLOVER July 1, 2015 / 9:57 pm

        I think Lady Lee did a koi post, and maybe one other–so I have koi in the back of my mind…along with all the usual fish and malarkey! Hope you’re having a good day–I’m way too hot.

        Like

I love dialogue. Do you?

