Winter’s Coming!

Priceless Joy is the creative force behind Flash Fiction for Aspiring Writers. Participants write a piece of flash fiction (100-175 words or less), with a beginning, middle and end, in response to a weekly photographical post. This is my response to the most recent photograph taken by Dawn Miller.

Trees pulling out their fall fashion wardrobe. Ready to pose for pictures. Two old friends settle into quiet conversation.

Splendid colours this year. The maples are out doing themselves.

Yes. But that means winter’s coming.

Thinking about it gives me the chills.

Once everything freezes up, I don’t get out very often.

You know me, I’ll be here whatever: snow; sleet; freezing rain. Weather doesn’t bother me like it does you.

I can’t help it. I’m not in control all winter.

Then think of spring, warming weather, ducks, and warblers. I’ll dream of company, children, and cherry blossoms.

The fountain sighed. The bench wore a smug smile. {word count: 107}

15 thoughts on “Winter’s Coming!

  1. creatingahome July 3, 2015 / 3:47 am

    I love your interpretation of the post. Didn’t see the end coming, good one.

    Like

    • phylor July 3, 2015 / 4:44 am

      One of those pieces of flash fiction that was very much sparked by the wonderful photograph, and sorta wrote it’s self.
      Glad you enjoyed it. And, that I did surprise you at the end.

      Liked by 1 person

    • phylor July 3, 2015 / 7:28 pm

      Thanks. I was struggling on what to write. I looked at the picture again and wondered.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. luckyjc007 July 2, 2015 / 5:59 pm

    Great take on the prompt…interesting and unusual . It gives one a sense of wonder if it were really possible for this type of communication what each would say to the other.

    Like

    • phylor July 2, 2015 / 8:09 pm

      Yes, I thought it would be fun to have inanimate objects speak with each other.

      Like

  3. phylor July 2, 2015 / 3:35 pm

    I couldn’t figure out how to write my flash fiction. I stumbled around the pool in the park, sat down on the bench. An idea came to mind.
    Thanks!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Priceless Joy July 2, 2015 / 3:25 pm

    Loved how the bench and fountain were carrying on a conversation! Such a sweet conversation. The fountain dreaming of warmer weather and the bench dreaming of company and children. Excellent Phylor!

    Like

    • phylor July 2, 2015 / 3:35 pm

      Thanks! Another great picture to work from. Dawn Miller is quite an accomplished photographer.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. HumaAq July 2, 2015 / 2:37 pm

    That’s an awesome story with such a different perspective

    Like

    • phylor July 2, 2015 / 8:32 pm

      My reply is actually several comments up! The one that seems detached from the others. ;D

      Like

      • HumaAq July 2, 2015 / 8:48 pm

        Read that, sometimes instant ideas are the best

        Like

I love dialogue. Do you?

