going no where

5/5 is a challenge to choose 1 photographs and write a 100 word piece of flash fiction each day for five days. There are themes.

Day Three: “going nowhere.”

photo: @ phylor (watermark function not working)

Today. Face the world. In person. Not through window. Not behind drapes.

Put on shoes. Roll up the ragged hem of jeans. Fill knapsack with out-of-house things. Notebook. Pen. Pills. Money. Bandages for blisters and falls. Water. Cell phone. Breathe.

Practice in motions in head. Creative visualization. Get out keys. Swing knap-sack on back. Open door. Don’t shake. Eyes open.

Feel doorknob in hand. Twist of key in lock. Breathe.

Three concrete steps to paving-stone driveway. Three steps to anywhere. Breathe.

Foot hovers above final step. Five steps. Five steps to safety.

Not today. Maybe tomorrow. Maybe never. {word count: 98)

© phylor 2015

4 thoughts on “going no where

  1. phylor July 6, 2015 / 5:02 am

    It’s a long block and a half I’m sure.

    Like

  2. DELL CLOVER July 5, 2015 / 2:51 am

    There are days I have to literally push myself out the door–I’m usually glad afterward, the feeling of accomplishment, and victory. But that initial struggle is horrible.

    Like

    • phylor July 5, 2015 / 3:56 am

      I know exactly what you mean. I say the house won’t let me go. Of course its me who won’t let go of the house.

      Like

      • DELL CLOVER July 5, 2015 / 4:07 am

        I know, hon–feels so ridiculous. You’d think I was crossing the Atlantic…it’s just a block and a half to the store.

        Like

I love dialogue. Do you?

