5/5 Challenge: No Such Thing as Freedom

Day 3 of the 5/5 Challenge: Theme: “No Such Thing as Freedom”

{I am in a very strange mood today. If you look at my submission for Sunday Photo Fiction, the confusion of my mind will come clear.}

Vampire Plants

We knew this was our last chance.

We knew they had spies. No way to demarcate those traitors.

You watch your neighbour while he watches you. Trick the tricksters.

Ten of us gathered in the town square. When the sun slipped over the horizon and the church bell rang 7:00, we started.

The county park lolled in the morning sun. Toasting one side then the other.

The bravest soul of all had painted the lines. No sign of her now.

Raising our stakes about our heads, we condemn the vampire weeds to hell.

Their tentacled roots had twisted. They will come again.

{word count: 100}

7 thoughts on “5/5 Challenge: No Such Thing as Freedom

  1. phylor July 6, 2015 / 8:18 am

    Thank you, kind sir. My personality has never been described as endearing. Made my Monday morning. Keep the flattery coming!

    Like

  2. DELL CLOVER July 6, 2015 / 4:10 am

    Vampire weeds–great, now I s’pose they’ll show up in my heat-from-hell dreams tonight!

    Like

    • phylor July 6, 2015 / 5:10 am

      Just watch out for vines that go straight to your neck. Avoid as you would poison ivy. My vampire weeds..

      Like

      • DELL CLOVER July 6, 2015 / 6:01 am

        Now I’ve gone from “sad” to scared to death!

        Like

  3. summerstommy2 July 5, 2015 / 10:26 pm

    Your strange day days always lead to interesting writings from you…..and this is another one….

    Like

    • phylor July 6, 2015 / 5:11 am

      Thank you. The strange days continue as my wordle #68 implies.

      Like

      • summerstommy2 July 6, 2015 / 5:21 am

        I’ll just look at it as another endearing feature of your personality….

        Like

I love dialogue. Do you?

