keys

On Sundays, Mindlovemisery presents a writing prompt. This week the prompt is collage. “How do these images connect in your brain? What is the underlying theme?If you like you can read them like panels in a comic strip it’s up to you how your interpret them.”

Provocative. Evocative. Exotic. Writing prompt 114: Collage.

As if I knew the key to life

The key to harmony.

Kick off your sneakers.

Broken in. Busted.

As if I knew to key to love.

All sunshine and flowers.

When old and stale.

Flowers lose their petals.

As if I knew the key to freedom.

Flying with the birds at night.

Gliding on the thermals.

As if I knew the key to seduction.

Sweaty. Steamy. Soaked in lust.

That flower which will not fade.

I chose to read the images through comic book pattern. Analysis of pictures is an interesting skill. I “read” several of  William Hogarth’s serialized paintings/engravings. These pictures tell a story. The Rake’s Progress. The Harlot’s Progress. Gin Alley. Beer Lane. Marriage-a-la-Mode. Industry and Idleness.

“William Hogarth: “10 November 1697 – 26 October 1764) was an English painter, printmaker, pictorial satirist, social critic, and editorial cartoonist who has been credited with pioneering western sequential art. His work ranged from realistic portraiture to comic strip-like series of pictures called ‘modern moral subjects.’” Wikipedia.

5 thoughts on “keys

  1. DELL CLOVER July 6, 2015 / 4:25 am

    Wow, you did a fabulous job with this, Phylor. I’ve been dragging my heels, as usual–but I’ll probably work on it tonight/this morning–nothing else to do in this damn heat….

    Like

    • phylor July 6, 2015 / 5:15 am

      I sit sweating at my computer. Hope I don’t get the keyboard too wet!

      Liked by 1 person

    • phylor July 6, 2015 / 8:20 am

      Thank you for the kind compliment. I hope you had a good visit with your Mother.

      Like

  2. summerstommy2 July 5, 2015 / 7:26 pm

    I did so enjoy this take, the idea that seduction and lust are flowers that will not fade is a great image and reminder that such desires don’t fade away as we age, they mature….

    Like

I love dialogue. Do you?

