Are you my fortune?

Response to July 16th Mindlovemisery’s Menagerie Writing Prompt Tale Weaver : Fortune Cookie.

300px-Lucy-van-pelt-1-1.jpg

{I have written from my darker side of late. One piece so disturbing, (at least to me) I decided not to publish it. (response to MLMM’s Photo Challenge: Illume) Maybe some day, but not now}

Thin strips of paper scattered ‘cross floor. Truths written out in black, block letters.

You live alone. You take the C subway. You shop at Fernway’s Market. You sit at the café on Sundays. You walk on the pond path. You like ice cream. You have old books. You sleep on your right side.

Pulse beat rhythm against brain. Sweat-moistened hands shake.

Timer ding. Smell of almonds from kitchen. Another batch done. {word count: 76}

 

4 thoughts on “Are you my fortune?

  1. summerstommy2 July 17, 2015 / 4:21 pm

    Wow a fascinating response to this task.
    Not only do I enjoy the machinations of your mind but I’m also hoping the baking turned out a treat.

    Like

    • phylor July 17, 2015 / 5:20 pm

      I’m not sure — my darker side says no; my less dark side says yes!
      Having fun!

      Like

  2. georgeplace2013 July 16, 2015 / 6:22 am

    That’s one way to get them right : ) Great take on the prompt

    Like

I love dialogue. Do you?

