On the street where I live*

PHOTO PROMPT- © Sandra Crook

PHOTO PROMPT- © Sandra Crook

Another installment of Rochelle’s Friday Fictioneers July 15-17, 2015

Welcome. I’m Prismata, guide to the doors of Strawberry Lane.**

First stone archway, entrance to medieval tunnels through to Asia.

Workshop turning lead into gold, up the narrow stairs of plaster and lath house.

Closing the 3rd door on the right brings magic shop to life.

Last shop on the left, a fairy dust bakery. Smell sweet drizzle star-berry scones.

Behind fancy marble-topped wooden doors, Curios Ancient and Rare Museum.

I know the doors on this street well. I live in the dormer room under the tiled roof.

For about 200 years on Friday.

Any questions? {word count: 96}

* “On the Street Where You Live” My Fair Lady, Lerner & Lowe

**“Strawberry Lane” mash up: Strawberry Fields Forever/Penny Lane, John Lennon/Paul McCartney.

{I am in writing prompt withdrawal. I have joined WPA (writing prompt anonymous). Hope they don’t find out I had a relapse!}

23 thoughts on “On the street where I live*

    • phylor July 17, 2015 / 5:30 pm

      Thank you, Dawn. I’m glad you enjoyed my tale.
      The picture is so absorbing. I’d love to visit the street with or without the guide. :)

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Dale July 17, 2015 / 12:43 am

    I’d love to visit this enchanting place!

    Like

  2. gahlearner July 16, 2015 / 8:31 pm

    Wonderfol take on the prompt! And I hope the FF addiction stays with you. :)

    Like

  3. bykimberlylynne July 16, 2015 / 7:55 am

    I love the ethereal tone, sort of drifting half-in and -out of consciousness, fantasy, reality, acid-trippy whatevers. You hooked me with “Prismata” and “star-berry scones.” This is the anti-rat-race, and I needed it so badly! Thanks.

    Like

    • phylor July 17, 2015 / 11:14 am

      You are very welcome. I like the way your describe your time there.

      Like

  4. rochellewisoff July 16, 2015 / 6:45 am

    Dear Phylor,

    A sweet fairy feeling. Nicely done.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

    Like

    • phylor July 16, 2015 / 7:13 am

      Thank you, Rochelle. The photography seemed whimsical — especially the pattern of the tiled roof.

      Like

    • phylor July 16, 2015 / 4:52 am

      Thank you. I once lived in an attic room with a dormer window. But our roof was not as whimsical as the one in the photograph.

      Like

      • September Last July 16, 2015 / 2:23 pm

        Oooh, an attic room with a dormer window–a very “writerly” abode!

        Like

  5. Sandra July 16, 2015 / 2:03 am

    Very imaginative piece – I enjoyed it.

    Like

    • phylor July 16, 2015 / 4:48 am

      Thank you Sandra. The tiled roof made the street seem magical.

      Like

    • phylor July 16, 2015 / 4:50 am

      Thank you. Life crazier than usual, so I’m not doing many writing prompts. That’s why I didn’t contribute to FFfAW. I also knew I couldn’t read other contributors’ flash fiction. I’ve put stuff in “cold storage” to work on at a later date. So, you never know when I might publish a FFfAW prompt.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Priceless Joy July 16, 2015 / 8:41 am

        I understand. You didn’t need to explain but thank you for doing so. I look forward to reading your future stories. :)

        Like

I love dialogue. Do you?

