our family tree

Collage 2

TL: Yves TR and BL Free Google Wallpapers BR: Holunder

Free form, free write, flash fiction using Mindlovemisery’s Menagerie writing prompt, Collage 2, reading left to right, top to bottom. No editors were harmed in the writing of this post.

 

Our family tree. One side stunted, barely formed. The other over reaching, threatening to pull all to the ground.

Our genetic make-up. Need to be miserable. Need to be tortured. Nothing less will release us.

If easy to shed skin. Tick backwards time. Crawl into primordial sea.

We dance with death, persecution. A curtain of blight obscures, blurs our vision.

Is there any outside our nightmare, our burden? Shadow puppets of normality, of life unsullied by smudges.

{word count: 95}

@ phylor 2015

13 thoughts on “our family tree

  1. julespaige July 20, 2015 / 10:54 am

    There was a curse on our local theater. Because Native peoples were mascaraed there. Maybe not so much a curse as a haunting. About five people were put there to be protected and instead were slaughtered. And it wasn’t until about ten years ago that the owners brought in a Native Peoples Shaman to bless and cleanse the site. And that particular haunting stopped.

    I think rather than a gene for evil, that there is an absence of the gene that regulates conscience.
    I only say that because of quite a bit of the shows that I have watched where the malingered character has had ‘normal’ backgrounds. The human body/mind is so very complex. Sometimes I wonder if I really want to research my family tree. Kind of like learning about superstitions. Once you know something it is hard to be unaffected by it.

    Thanks for stopping by my mash up. I’ll keep your point of view for Charles on the back burner :)
    Hugs, Jules

    Like

    • phylor July 28, 2015 / 2:30 pm

      It’s important to use tradition ways to cleanse spirits. They want to go to the afterlife, but need help to get there.
      You are quite right. A gene to regulate consciousness would help stop the horrors we do to each other.
      I still believe fully in the evil gene. I’ve seen it at work in my family and throughout history.
      Others have done branches of our family tree. The versions we received were obviously censured. I would have liked to know that part@

      Liked by 1 person

      • julespaige July 28, 2015 / 2:42 pm

        Is it best to know all truths, some truths or be ignorant? I read a book once (I believe it was fiction) where a small group of women lived on an island and only could cross to the main land at very low tide. Most of the mainland folk left them be. One woman hid her pregnancy well enough to not claim her child as her daughter – the group adopted the child. And with limited education of the world did things we would think of as odd or strange. But what she fully believed to be right in her reality. Until a stranger came…

        To make a long story short, the girl child who had not been taught the secret path of the low tide trail, finally discovered it. And the women, because of the stranger salvaged their island and their life to live out their remaining days. The Mother though knew that when the time came… that her child could eventually -escape.

        The left out parts might of your ‘tree’ might have been an attempt at protection. If we knew all the truth – as the saying goes – could we handle it?

        As you imply, I think it would be nice to have some choice in knowing ‘history’ – I don’t know all that much of mine. Just a few generations back. Guess that will have to do.

        Like

    • phylor July 19, 2015 / 4:36 pm

      Thanks!
      I’ve riffed on my genealogy previously but the collage presented another twist to the tree.

      Like

      • September Last July 19, 2015 / 6:12 pm

        The collage really expands on “writing to a single photo”.

        Like

        • phylor July 19, 2015 / 7:29 pm

          There are so many ways to “read” the collage! Each frame could suggest a different story or be combined to create something else.
          I enjoy the ones on MMLM — I don’t know if anyone else is using it as a writing prompt.

          Like

  2. mindlovemisery July 19, 2015 / 6:05 am

    This is brilliantly written and interpreted and having my own “diseased” family tree it is a piece I can relate too

    Like

    • phylor July 19, 2015 / 1:42 pm

      Thanks.
      I wonder which side the evil gene is on — the stunted or the toppling.
      The collage images were fantastic and made weaving the tale a nice challenging.
      Keep those collages coming! :)

      Liked by 1 person

      • mindlovemisery July 19, 2015 / 2:02 pm

        Thank you so much I will be alternating them with the door series =) I am not sure to be honest but the evil gene exists on both sides of my family

        Like

        • phylor July 19, 2015 / 2:06 pm

          There is a curse on my mother’s side; evil on my father’s.
          Sorry you have evil genes on both sides. For me, one gene is more than enough!

          Liked by 1 person

            • phylor July 19, 2015 / 4:35 pm

              I’m not familiar with the role playing games, so I had to find a definition of tiefling. I think I understand the relationship between them and a curse.

              My mother’s family was either cursed in Scotland, or in Quebec after the lineage arrived in the 1760s-1770s. Could have been cursed there by the French Quebecois whose land they took over, or the native north americans they would have slaughtered.
              Either way, the curse has come down through the generations.

              Like

I love dialogue. Do you?

