her fairy tale kingdom

A piece of flash fiction for Flash Fiction for Aspiring Writers, July 22, 2015 {image: TJ Paris}

Her fairy tale kingdom. A castle, a moat, a drawbridge. Disneyland in miniature. With sea tang, gulls, and smashing waves.

Her adoring subjects, whales and passing albatross, saluted. Her knights to guard the castle, suited in dark armour-like black granite, stood at the ready.

As the first fingers of dawn grasped the sky, she ran the flag up the pole. Her kingdom’s flag. When the last drops of sunset scattered the sea’s surface, she took it down.

She never felt alone or lonely. Ghostly galleons, fire dancing on the yard-arm, swept past. Echoes of smugglers’ oars beat against the fortress walls. Lighthouse beams and fog horns filled any empty spaces. {word count: 111}

© phylor, 2015

31 thoughts on “her fairy tale kingdom

  1. tjparis July 27, 2015 / 10:29 pm

    So lovely. Like the Lady of Shallot before she got disturbed by a passing knight. :)

    Like

    • phylor July 28, 2015 / 1:21 pm

      I love the reference to the Lady of Shallot. One of my favourite musical artists, Lorena McKennitt, put the poem to music. Wonderful! Thanks for the lovely comment.

      Liked by 1 person

      • tjparis July 28, 2015 / 4:46 pm

        I will certainly listen to it. It is one of my favorite poems. ☺ hope you have a great day. ☺

        Like

          • tjparis July 29, 2015 / 5:02 am

            I have just been listening via Youtube. It is a lovely tribute to the poem and a beautiful melody. Thanks os much for putting me onto it. :)

            Like

            • phylor August 1, 2015 / 2:15 pm

              I’m glad you like her version. I am very fond of her music which follows various paths throughout her career.

              Liked by 1 person

              • tjparis August 3, 2015 / 6:06 am

                I am also enjoying listening to some of her other compositions. Many thanks for putting me onto her music! :)

                Like

                • phylor August 3, 2015 / 8:30 am

                  Glad you are enjoying her music. I find her phenomenal as an artist.
                  A good way into her music is the 1999 compilation, Live in Paris and Toronto.
                  She probably has recorded another compilation since then.

                  Liked by 1 person

                  • tjparis August 3, 2015 / 8:32 am

                    I will definitely check it out! Many thanks for the tip. :)

                    Like

  2. Ameena k.g July 26, 2015 / 5:05 pm

    Descriptive writing! Yes! I love reading it.

    Like

    • phylor July 27, 2015 / 4:49 pm

      Thank you. The image of a fairy tale castle came to mind based on the photo prompt.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. afairymind July 23, 2015 / 7:11 pm

    Gorgeous imagery, Phylor! She’s such a happy character, satisfied with what she has. :)

    Like

    • phylor July 24, 2015 / 9:45 am

      I wanted her to feel good about living in a fairytale castle. I always wanted to!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. mandibelle16 July 23, 2015 / 3:52 pm

    Wonderful descriptions. I’m glad she never felt alone. Great story.

    Like

    • phylor July 24, 2015 / 11:05 am

      Alone doesn’t = lonely. Not when you have the sea surrounding you.
      Thanks for the kind comments.

      Liked by 1 person

    • phylor July 22, 2015 / 9:46 pm

      Thanks.
      I love the sea, it’s sounds, smells, tastes. I closed my eyes and thought about a rocky sea shore.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. luckyjc007 July 22, 2015 / 1:55 pm

    Nice story. She seems to be very happy and satisfied with her little world.

    Like

    • phylor July 22, 2015 / 9:45 pm

      Thanks. Yes, I think she is. She has a life full of wonder and adventure.

      Like

  6. HumaAq July 22, 2015 / 10:15 am

    A world of her own, it was very visual writing

    Like

    • phylor July 22, 2015 / 9:44 pm

      Thank you.
      I love the sea, rocky shores, waves, sea/shore birds. The image stirred up my sea memories and stories I told myself as a child.

      Liked by 1 person

      • HumaAq July 22, 2015 / 10:50 pm

        I love sea too, the extreme beauty and danger in one place. Someday, a beach house will make my dream come true;)

        Like

        • phylor July 28, 2015 / 1:24 pm

          I would love one too. Several of the beaches I frequent when home have fisherman’s houses — dating back to the early 1800s or older, above the high water mark. I always dream that one of them is mine and I can live close enough to the sea to fall asleep and wake up to it’s many sounds.

          Liked by 1 person

          • HumaAq July 28, 2015 / 1:36 pm

            Dreams..sigh! If you got one before me, do invite me over lol

            Like

            • phylor July 28, 2015 / 1:57 pm

              Most definitely. I shall have a party for those I’ve met blogging. And, you can stay over to enjoy the house’s location. ;)

              Liked by 1 person

              • HumaAq July 28, 2015 / 2:00 pm

                Great I’m packing already hahaa! Very generous of you

                Like

  7. Priceless Joy July 22, 2015 / 8:44 am

    Wonderful Phylor. I can easily visualize the images and hear the fog horn. I felt like I was there with her. Great story!

    Thank you for continuing to participate in the weekly FFfAW challenge. I always look forward to reading your stories and I’m sure the others do as well. I appreciate you Phylor! :)

    Like

    • phylor July 22, 2015 / 9:43 pm

      You are most welcome. A breather from the real world to do some virtual world writing. Not back full-time, just yet. ;D

      Liked by 1 person

I love dialogue. Do you?

