drifts of snow

image: Carnaval de Québec  Ice Boat Race on the St. Lawrence River in between Québec City and Lévis

There have been some rearrangements in prompts on Mindlovemisery’s Menagerie. For the first Friday music challenge, Yves posted a video of David Usher’s St. Lawrence River*. I immediately fell in love with his voice and lyrics. Now, to add his stuff to my computer music library.

“Solid by morning
And I’ll freeze here
Winter by morning”

especially resonated, and so my response: Drifts of Snow

My love can’t melt

drifts of snow between us

Ice rain tears freeze on my cheeks

Retreating glacier catches me up

Avalanche tumbles me down and under

I stand shivering, wondering

what made the snow no longer a blanket

to cover our naked bodies as we lay together?

what froze your heart into icy sharp splinters

drawing blood as you flitch when I touch you?

 

PS: The Saint Lawrence River is a powerful image for me. Traveling along side it. Deep, dark, fast. Winter. Snow geese. Metaphor for Quebec and Canada. Living history.

I still find it amazing that this glorious wide river can freeze in the winter-time.

© phylor, 2015

17 thoughts on “drifts of snow

  1. mj6969 July 26, 2015 / 8:36 pm

    Really wonderful piece Phylor – and since I’m a native Montrealer – I can relate to the extremely powerful imagery of the St. Lawrence. And it is a wonder – in all seasons – but in winter – it seems to live a complete life of its own.

    Like

    • phylor July 27, 2015 / 12:34 am

      There is that special beauty in winter. The far shore seems closer. Nature breathing an ice fog.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Valida Faire July 24, 2015 / 5:32 pm

    This is a heart-grabber of a poem, marvelous. And today I read all your right-hand widget messages as though they were Holy Writ (I’m back with a no-comments blog–we’ll see how long I last with this latest AKA, “Valida”–hope you’re well, Phylor).

    Like

    • phylor July 25, 2015 / 4:31 am

      Thank you for the compliment.
      Good luck with no comments — that’s a bold move to make blogging manageable.
      I decided to post this week. Back to less posting next week.

      Like

      • phylor July 25, 2015 / 4:37 am

        PS: I’ve been reading your most recent poetry. Ravished by Tides is exquisite!

        Like

      • Valida Faire July 25, 2015 / 5:34 am

        Well, many readers don’t comment, so…I thought I’d save myself the disappointments. If I feel more energetic, brave at summer’s end, I’ll turn comments back on. Sounds like you’re pacing yourself–a week on, then less, of posting. Whatever we need to do, that’s my new policy. Wishing you well always.

        Like

        • phylor July 25, 2015 / 5:49 am

          I needed the distraction this week. Virtual life can be what you want, real life, not so easy.

          Like

  3. Colline July 24, 2015 / 11:37 am

    Your poem is beautiful Phylor. A beautiful response to the prompt.

    Like

    • phylor July 25, 2015 / 4:38 am

      Thank you, Colline.
      The imagery of frozen solid in conjunction with the song’s title had me thinking of love in winter’s coat.

      Liked by 1 person

    • phylor July 25, 2015 / 4:42 am

      Glad I helped you cool down. It’s hot here too, so winter imagery came to mind.
      I could use that flexible of a spine too.

      Like

  4. summerstommy2 July 24, 2015 / 6:03 am

    I love the metaphor and juxtaposition of the snow, ice and connection to love. You conveyed this in excellent detail in the most succinct of ways….Well done…

    Like

    • phylor July 25, 2015 / 4:44 am

      David Usher’s lyrics brought to mind winter imagery. When someone stops loving you, to me it is being frozen out. The coldness is like a winter’s day.

      Like

      • summerstommy2 July 25, 2015 / 4:59 am

        I agree I well remember it happening. That’s a great metaphor.

        Like

  5. mindlovemisery July 24, 2015 / 6:03 am

    I am so glad you liked David Usher! I love the image of the river I have never been there myself and your familiarity with the location made the piece so much more intimate and personal. Gorgeous writing you changed the temperature and also brought such intense feelings of sadness and rejection. Brilliantly done.

    Like

    • phylor July 25, 2015 / 4:45 am

      Thank you.
      The St. Lawrence is an amazing river. It has sparked many to create powerful words — like David Usher.

      Liked by 1 person

I love dialogue. Do you?

