gone in a flash of earth’s orbit

I took a week off many of the writing prompts I enjoy to deal with some of the crap going on in my real life. Writing was for distraction but had become too distracting.

I posted a lot this week because I needed a break from the crap going on in my life.

My west coast brother-in-law is dying. Doctors give him a week or two. He is home receiving hospice care, surrounded by extended family and friends.

A donated kidney gave him an extra 15 years of life. The stem cell transplant (I mentioned) helped kick his cancer’s butt. After some set-backs, he seemed to be improving. However, other ailments began to take his life away.

He will die before the pain is bad. He will die with dignity.

I wrote a poem about him I’d like to share:

. . .  gone in a flash of earth’s orbit . . .

In socks and Birkenstocks always

quiet voice with a quick, generous wit

mean golf swing, handy with a pool cue, good at hoops

your life was balance

time spent alone in the wilderness

time spent with wife, family and friends

when you pass on to perpetual forests, endless grassland prairies, never-ending wilderness hiking trails

desert and mountain will remember you

a celebration of your life in those closest to you

remembered always in Birkenstocks and socks

remembered always with a smile

9 thoughts on “gone in a flash of earth’s orbit

  1. Priceless Joy July 26, 2015 / 11:52 am

    A very sad situation but you have given him a beautiful tribute.

    Like

  2. Valida Faire July 26, 2015 / 12:05 am

    Oh my–Phylor, I’m sorry about all this, and you’ve written a most beautifully moving tribute that we might all wish to receive. Peace to him, and the whole family. You’re in my thoughts.

    Like

    • phylor July 26, 2015 / 7:50 am

      Thank you. I wanted to share a bit of his life. Perhaps too personal, but each grieves in their own way.
      I wrote a lot about my mother’s death on the blog. I needed to express how I was feeling and to talk about the grieving process.

      Like

      • Valida Faire July 26, 2015 / 3:22 pm

        Well–my comment may be too personal, but you’re fortunate that you can grieve; not everyone can.

        Like

        • phylor July 26, 2015 / 3:37 pm

          I learned a lot about grieving from being my mother’s care-giver. She never forgave my father for dying. Hard to share memories of him for 12 years after his death. My mother refused to speak of him for a long period of time.
          Your comment is not too personal to me.

          Like

          • Valida Faire July 26, 2015 / 3:57 pm

            I lost 2 fathers and a mother, and never felt one moment’s grief–and that, I dare say, is a tragedy.

            Like

    • phylor July 26, 2015 / 7:45 am

      Thanks, Mo.
      Dying with dignity, surrounded by friends and family, makes it easier, I think, for him and for his wife, and his brothers.

      Like

I love dialogue. Do you?

