Room 1: 6 flights up

webcam-toy-photo1 (1)

image: Yves

We have been invited by Mindlovemisery of Mindlovemisery Menagerie to write a 9 part series on rooms in NoEnd House, a place in her dreams. She will post a photograph or a word as a clue/cue to our next room. ‘’six flights up” describes my room tucked under the eaves of an 18th century house.

Six flights of stairs to my aerie, perched under the attic eaves. The  bare ribs of rafters hold up my sky. I reach out my dormer window and grab cotton puffs of clouds.

I smell starch, hear skits rustles.  My room, her room. We share a space across time.

She will point to the Gillman* wallpaper. The faded yellow of madness. I understand her instability. We sob in our loneliness; we both search for companionship. We both search for love.

I can exit through the Lilliputian door. Turn china doorknob to the left. Step into the dim light cast by the mirror dormer window. Descend the sixty stairs, open the bright red front door into the surreal reality of a pleasant Spring day.

I look up to my dormer window. Sometimes she waves. Other times, she cries.

* Charlotte Perkins Gillman, “The Yellow Wall Paper”

@ phylor 2015

 

8 thoughts on “Room 1: 6 flights up

  1. mindlovemisery July 28, 2015 / 3:53 am

    Perhaps it was under your recommendation or someone else’s but some time ago I read “The Yellow Wallpaper” loved it and absolutely loved the way you tied that with the prompt, brilliant work!

    Like

    • phylor July 28, 2015 / 8:14 am

      I’m glad you read and loved Yellow Wallpaper. Your (?) finger pointing at the wallpaper so much reminded me of the story. Hence, the reference.
      I’m enjoying your room series. I even have a tying together theme that I’ll leave till the end.

      Liked by 1 person

      • mindlovemisery July 28, 2015 / 11:27 am

        I am so glad to hear that I must admit I worried if people would be up for a series that is partly why I am alternate it with the collages

        Like

        • phylor July 28, 2015 / 11:29 am

          I haven’t done a story in quite some time. Rather than revisit existing characters, I get to fictionalize real life (again).

          Liked by 1 person

    • phylor July 27, 2015 / 12:22 am

      Old houses have their spirits. Sharing presents, feeling pasts.

      Liked by 1 person

I love dialogue. Do you?

