his dog a hexagon

This is not my post on collage — that has yet to come. Gremlins like embarrassing me in public!

Geometric-shapes-wallpaper[1]

geometric shaped wallpaper

Concocted for Mindlovemisery’s Menagerie Wordle #71

He saw the world in geometrical shapes.

Tuesday was a triangle. His dog a hexagon.

He was never sure why the ganglia in his brain

became delinquent, and streetwise.

He took up smoking cheap cigars and hanging with even cheaper women.

His lust was a charnel house; implosive and near nuclear.

His need for creepy sex extended into his geometrical shaped world.

During the autopsy, the coroner found extensive ragged brain tissue seeping into his destroyed geometrical perspective.

Thus, he had descended into an irregular bracket-less unshaped hell.

60 thoughts on “his dog a hexagon

  1. Dolly Marionette August 2, 2015 / 5:44 pm

    Fantastic! Brain trauma and disease can make a person behave in a bizarre fashion, although perhaps not as interesting a one as your character.
    My late father suffered a stroke and afterwards became very emotionally volatile. I tried not to upset him.

    Like

    • phylor August 2, 2015 / 7:50 pm

      My mother had a stroke shortly after my father unexpected death. While there was little physical damage, the psychological change was dramatic. I called her my other mother.
      A friend lost oxygen to the brain, and collapsed. When he came to, he had lost the last 5 or so years of his life. Thought his wife was a extremely attentive nurse. He remembered me as we had been friends for many years. He had to relearn everything! Gradually, each function came back. The doctors explained it was as if he had sustained a head injury.
      Eventually, dementia slipped into my mother’s life and thus mine.
      I tried not to upset her.

      Like

  2. gailatthefarm August 2, 2015 / 12:04 pm

    Great write.

    Love your header!

    Like

    • phylor August 2, 2015 / 12:29 pm

      Thank you.
      The koi and other assorted fish live in a pond beside the landlady’s house.
      We fish sat, and now are responsible for all matters fishy. I’ve written a couple of posts in which the fish figure prominently.

      Like

    • phylor August 2, 2015 / 8:59 pm

      I went to your blog, but my computer froze — I’ve had that happen before. Then, I couldn’t leave a message as there was an error listed when there wasn’t one.
      If you have an email, I could send comment that way and you could cut & paste.

      Like

  3. Bastet July 30, 2015 / 1:39 am

    Yipes what a story … my compliments on your fantastic imagination!

    Like

    • phylor August 1, 2015 / 2:12 pm

      Thanks.
      My imagination has gotten me into a lot of trouble over the years.

      Like

  4. C.C. July 28, 2015 / 9:25 pm

    He may see the world in geometrical shapes, but I love the way YOU see the world, Phylor…..this is brilliant and fun and ‘his dog a hexagon’ is just so unique :-)

    Like

    • phylor July 28, 2015 / 11:09 pm

      I do see the world with several “filters:” crazy; whimsical; cynical; jaded and just plan me.
      Thank you for your kind words.

      Like

      • C.C. July 28, 2015 / 11:17 pm

        Several filters are so much more interesting than just one plain old filter :-P

        Like

        • phylor July 29, 2015 / 1:10 am

          I never know which filter I’ll pull out of the box.

          Like

          • C.C. July 29, 2015 / 1:12 am

            Haha, well then that makes it that much more interesting, doesn’t it? :-P

            Like

    • phylor July 28, 2015 / 7:57 am

      Glad you enjoyed it.
      The opening line snuck out, and the rest, well . . .

      Like

  5. mj6969 July 27, 2015 / 8:34 pm

    I really loved the piece – and the ending – had me laughing – yeah, I’m strange that way ;)

    great write Phylor :)

    Like

    • phylor July 28, 2015 / 7:56 am

      Thanks. I’m glad I gave you a giggle or two. Quite alright to laugh at the ending — I did so when I wrote it. And, my mother warned me never to laugh at my own jokes! lol

      Liked by 1 person

      • mj6969 July 28, 2015 / 8:41 am

        Well, if we can’t laugh at our own jokes, then how do we know if we’re quite of right and sound mind?! ;)

        Like

          • mj6969 July 28, 2015 / 8:44 am

            *snorting* sorry – I’m laughing – you caught me off guard with the comment …

            Like

            • phylor July 28, 2015 / 8:53 am

              That was the idea! Since I can’t laugh at my own jokes, I’ll get someone else to. ;)

              Liked by 1 person

              • mj6969 July 28, 2015 / 11:31 am

                well it’s a damn good thing I hadn’t stopped for a sip of tea – otherwise, it could have been catastrophic XD

                Like

                • phylor July 28, 2015 / 12:53 pm

                  That is how I nearly fried a keyboard many years ago (with a mouthful of coffee, not tea). A roll of paper towels and fingers crossed, I saved it.

                  Liked by 1 person

                  • mj6969 July 28, 2015 / 4:54 pm

                    I’ve fried several keyboards —- you’d think I’d have learned something by now?! Apparently not ;)

                    Like

  6. summerstommy2 July 27, 2015 / 5:46 pm

    I loved this take. There are people who see the world in this way. Very clever dear friend, love how your mind works.

    Like

    • phylor July 28, 2015 / 7:55 am

      At least it still works, lol.
      This is what happens when the opening phrase seeps into my consciousness.
      Must admit, I’m rather fond of the title, ;)

      Like

      • summerstommy2 July 28, 2015 / 7:58 am

        Yes good title that’s for sure.
        It is a relief to know our minds are still ticking over.
        Shame our bodies don’t keep up.

        Like

        • phylor July 28, 2015 / 8:04 am

          Too true! Especially what is my this morning.

          Like

          • summerstommy2 July 28, 2015 / 8:07 am

            I’m a morning person, at night like now I want to slumber for a bit. I tend to wake up a lot during the night.

            Like

            • phylor July 28, 2015 / 8:08 am

              I thought it was past your bedtime. Our “days” rarely overlap when the sun is up here, lol.

              Like

                • phylor July 28, 2015 / 1:08 pm

                  Hope you got some. It seems like I can only sleep in the day now.

                  Like

    • phylor July 27, 2015 / 4:39 pm

      Thank you. A bit deviant as well, lol

      Like

      • Valida Faire July 27, 2015 / 9:20 pm

        Guess I just saw it as very Creative–especially the title, “His dog a hexagon”, made me think of Oliver Saks (?) studies of aberrant brain issues–I hope I have the title of his book correct: “The Man Who Thought His Wife Was a Hat”.

        Like

        • phylor July 28, 2015 / 7:53 am

          Close: The Man who Mistook his Wife for a Hat.
          There are some fascinating (tho not necessarily for the person experiencing them) cases. A woman who heard in colour, a man who saw the world in mathematical equations, and so on.

          Like

          • Valida Faire July 28, 2015 / 8:57 am

            Thanks for the correction–I have the book, read it with great interest; and packed it away when I thought I was going to move from CrazyLand a few months ago. I haven’t had heart to unpack much, just a few things on the wall–what a ridiculous/disappointing year it’s been…

            Like

            • phylor July 28, 2015 / 9:04 am

              Ridiculous and disappointing years are not good for the soul or the spirit.
              I do hope that what you need to make this a better year and a better space finds its way to you.

              Like

              • Valida Faire July 28, 2015 / 9:09 am

                Thank you for that blessing, Phylor–surely it will be a “Yes, and Amen”, if I persevere and patiently endure. I confess I am so weary, broken. You are a dear, to “listen”.

                Like

                  • Valida Faire July 28, 2015 / 10:14 am

                    Thank you, dear heart. I’m reluctant to burden you–you have your own “stuff”–but I much appreciate your gesture.

                    Like

                    • phylor July 28, 2015 / 11:23 am

                      Just remember you are free to use it whenever.
                      I always have “stuff.”

                      Like

                    • Valida Faire July 28, 2015 / 11:31 am

                      Thank you so much–yes, we all always have “stuff”; rarely a break in this life…

                      Like

                    • phylor July 28, 2015 / 1:06 pm

                      It does seem so. But we are in the here and now. Unfortunately that means dealing/coping with a load of crap (excuse my language).
                      You mentioned a support group — that is important. To have folks with similar experiences to “talk” with.

                      Like

                    • Valida Faire July 28, 2015 / 2:10 pm

                      “Crap” isn’t even close to a swear! If I mentioned a support group–which I don’t recall–I was speaking only of the handful of poets here. I don’t do “groups” otherwise. There must be a phobia term for that, eh?

                      Like

                    • phylor July 28, 2015 / 2:16 pm

                      Ah, I misunderstood a comment you made. Sorry.
                      I’ll have to come up with a term for you, lol.

                      Like

                    • Valida Faire July 28, 2015 / 2:18 pm

                      Oh goody, can’t wait to hear it! Hahahaha

                      Like

            • C.C. July 28, 2015 / 9:24 pm

              I understand broken and I lived in Crazy Town for 20 years. Like Phylor, my ‘door’ is always open to you too if you ever want to ‘talk’—consciouscacophony@gmail.com.

              Like

              • Valida Faire July 28, 2015 / 10:24 pm

                Thanks again, so much, C.C.–I’m making note of both your email addresses….just in case. 20 yrs in Crazy Town, eh? Shoot, this is my 18th yr here–I can’t believe I’m still alive, frankly, and that I’ve come as far as I have. God is faithful–that’s all I can say; and perhaps I’ve grown a stubborn backbone–but as I was telling Phylor (and you no doubt know this as well), it all just gets wearying after awhile, wears you down. Anyway, I feel really good tonight, so–I’ll take it!

                Like

                • C.C. July 28, 2015 / 10:38 pm

                  A victory is a victory, my friend, take it! Enjoy your good night tonight :-)

                  Like

                  • Valida Faire July 28, 2015 / 10:40 pm

                    I seriously need to sleep–I stayed up all last night so I could use the laundry room at 5 am. See?? CrazyLand

                    Like

                    • C.C. July 28, 2015 / 11:14 pm

                      Indeed! I have been there. I see!!

                      Like

  7. mindlovemisery July 27, 2015 / 5:51 am

    This is deranged and creepy and a brilliant take on the words!

    Like

    • phylor July 27, 2015 / 4:42 pm

      You caught my idea/concept of the wordle as laid out by you.

      Liked by 1 person

I love dialogue. Do you?

