sadness of seduction

Written for Music Prompt #2: Italian Leather Sofa (Cake). The music prompt is skillfully in the hands of Vagrant Rhodia.

1363881258i1taf
listen up

And, a welcome to the MMLM “family” of prompsters. A riff on the song lyrics. Sorta.

~*~*~*~*~*~*~

sadness of seduction

cold leather never warms

to touch

ache of knowing

isolation of island

of wanting

that which is ephemeral

not lodged in heart

silkiness of seduction

fingers freeze, breath in moans

tongue caught on steeliness of heart

pain of ripping flesh away

to absolute isolation

to absolution from

crimes of lust and misspent passion

sadness of seduction

silkiness of skin

coldness of leather to

touch

a warmness never felt within

@phylor 2015

37 thoughts on “sadness of seduction

  1. summerstommy2 August 1, 2015 / 5:49 pm

    I loved that image of the coldness of leather, I thought that is so true in a literal sense. No matter how good it looks or you make it look it retains its coldness…hmmm…..great thought and metaphor….

    Like

    • phylor August 1, 2015 / 6:56 pm

      I could write a long, twisted, revealing response to your comment.
      I think I’ll just say Thanks.

      Like

  2. Valida Faire August 1, 2015 / 4:38 pm

    Oh My Goodness, Phylor–POWERFUL, blew me away totally, I love it!

    Like

    • phylor August 1, 2015 / 4:53 pm

      Thank you for the praise.
      It’s a smash and smattering.

      Like

      • Valida Faire August 1, 2015 / 4:56 pm

        A Smash and Smattering Success!!! (Sounds like a headliner rave review on a billboard, eh?)

        Like

        • phylor August 1, 2015 / 6:52 pm

          I was thinking of smash not as in “smash hit” but smash as ideas/words hitting a wall. But as you put it, it does sound like a billboard, or an article by some “astute” reviewer. lol ;)

          Like

          • Valida Faire August 1, 2015 / 7:23 pm

            I kinda knew what you meant, but took a shot at being positive, affirming…

            Like

            • phylor August 1, 2015 / 7:34 pm

              That’s okay. However YOU want to respond. No reason NOT to answer in a positive and affirming way.
              I meant no disrespect to your comment. I was pleased you viewed it that way. When I hear “smash” that way, however, I feel I have misrepresented myself.
              Just so you know, I appreciate your praise. It is nice to hear.
              Please don’t feel you have to comment one way or the other. Or to comment at all.
              I’m writing this all wrong! Sorry! Sometime I’ll figure out what I meant to say and say it properly. I do have trouble writing/saying the write words (oops, a Freudian slip? A friend said it was probably pink.

              Like

              • Valida Faire August 1, 2015 / 8:36 pm

                A pink slip on Freud–HILARIOUS! Especially if we’re talking lacy garment, not a “you’re fired” note. I don’t feel obliged to comment on blogs–however, as a rule I don’t follow people that I don’t have some sort of connection with, or appreciation for; thus, if the connection/appreciation are there, I usually have oodles of things I might jabber about in the comment box. It would be a huge waste of energy, otherwise–which is part of my reason for not “linking up” with prompts (I just do pingbacks now). To be obliged to comment when I “feel nothing” from their poems, or frankly dislike the work–sounds like blogging hell, to me. So I’ve gotten rather choosy, this time ’round–hooking up with the folks I really like/admire, for the pure pleasure of reading them, and “chatting”. I suppose “smash” is one of those words with myriad definitions–and I just went with my initial vision of your name in LIGHTS!! A fun moment to share with you (which seems miraculous and much needed, after a hellish experience last night–see my poem, This Is My World).

                So there we are–“right as rain”, or “write as rain”, happily jabbering away together! My, I feel almost sane! (followed my mad laughter, to keep the audience on their toes) Long-distance Hugs to you, Phylor!

                Like

                • phylor August 1, 2015 / 8:55 pm

                  The mad laughter makes me think of Grue (1st movie) now that Minions is out.
                  And long distance hugs back. I’ll have to read your poem!

                  Like

                  • Valida Faire August 1, 2015 / 9:00 pm

                    Oh I just noticed another movie (conflicting schedule)–“From Time to Time” with Maggie Smith and Timothy Spall. I do LOVE Maggie Smith!

                    Like

                    • phylor August 2, 2015 / 12:17 am

                      Don’t know that movie, or don’t know I know that movie. My brain is aging faster for a variety of reasons. I have the brain of a 99 year old. Not true — my evil grandmother’s brain was pretty sharp at 99. She just believed her version of events rewritten to her pleasure, and to skate over the pain. To slide into her view of paradise.
                      Many references to my family. Ooopps, not always the best of ideas, lol.

                      Like

                    • Valida Faire August 2, 2015 / 1:40 am

                      Your so right–I had to think what movie I’d asked you about–hahahaha! References to family….I wish my brain had a delete key for those. If selective memory is real, why can’t I select only good recollections??

                      Like

                    • phylor August 2, 2015 / 2:05 am

                      My memory, such as it is, recollects only the bad stuff. As I say, I have a good memory for bad things, and a bad memory for good things; lol

                      Like

              • Valida Faire August 1, 2015 / 8:43 pm

                I meant to ask if you enjoy movies–the old black & white version of “The Ghost and Mrs Muir” is on right now, so delightful. Oh and while I’ve got you–and my memory at the same time–I’m still trying to work on an entry for your Tale Weavers prompt….

                Like

                • phylor August 1, 2015 / 8:53 pm

                  A much better version. And certainly better than the TV episodes from 1968 (I had to wiki the year — as I said my memory lags.)
                  By any chance are you watching TCM’s all Tierney, all day marathon? Watched bites and bytes. I’ll have to look up which ones I liked the best.
                  Oh, and jabber at will. I call it bambling. (babble on and ramble on). Jabber makes me think of Jabberwocky. Oh dear, what would Freud in his lacy, pink, revealing slip think of that (above the knee no less)? Or was that Jung, lol. Free association for free verse/free write, right, write?

                  Like

                  • Valida Faire August 1, 2015 / 8:57 pm

                    Yes, that’s what’s on–TCM’s all Tierney. Is there another movie version? I’ll look it up later, as I do love the story–being married to a ghost, myself, you may recall…. (wink)

                    Like

                    • phylor August 1, 2015 / 9:02 pm

                      I love movies like that — the romance is implicit and not too rancy. Can’t find it in spell check. Ransey not racy! Rawrenchy? If it isn’t in spell check, I have to go get the paper dictionary. My father used to say “look it up in the dictionary.” To which I responded. “How can I when I don’t know the first letter.” lol.

                      Like

                    • Valida Faire August 1, 2015 / 9:07 pm

                      I love that poets are born with the right to make up words as they please. (Don’t bother googling that–just trust me!) So, rawrenchy is quite apt, I’d say. Yes, I recall the directive to “look it up in the dictionary”, but–not bragging, as it must have been Divine gift–I didn’t struggle with trying to find words as much then, as I do now. Damn the aging brain, anyway!!

                      Like

                    • phylor August 2, 2015 / 12:15 am

                      When in doubt, I make words up. My father did that too. One play on words was shifting first letters, so what comes to mind is wieners and beans, became bieners and weans. LOL I come from a very strange family ;)

                      Like

                    • Valida Faire August 2, 2015 / 1:41 am

                      Bieners and weans does lend a more exotic sound to the simple meal!

                      Like

                  • phylor August 2, 2015 / 1:20 pm

                    PS: Today it’s Oliva De Havilland. Really enjoyed many of her movies.

                    Like

                    • phylor August 2, 2015 / 8:29 pm

                      Oh, yes and she recently turned 99!

                      Like

    • phylor August 1, 2015 / 4:51 pm

      Thanks. I haven’t listened to the music yet. That’s me, fast on the lyrics, slow on the rhythm. ;)

      Liked by 1 person

      • Vagrant Rhodia August 1, 2015 / 7:36 pm

        Nah. .I don’t care if you ever listen :) I’m happy you were inspired

        Like

        • phylor August 1, 2015 / 9:04 pm

          Very much so as in inspired.
          I will have to go through my lyrics file for a suggestion. My tastes are eclectic and don’t go too far forward. As you will see if I suggest, lol.
          Probably a Canadian band. Patriotic and all that, lol.

          Liked by 1 person

            • phylor August 2, 2015 / 12:18 am

              Thanks. Any genre of song (okay lyrics AND music) do you have a hankering for?

              Liked by 1 person

  3. HumaAq August 1, 2015 / 2:34 pm

    Aw pain described well here.

    Like

    • phylor August 1, 2015 / 2:37 pm

      Thank you.
      The lyrics struck me as sad, and slightly tawdry. Just my take.

      Liked by 1 person

I love dialogue. Do you?

