aloneness is oneness

Collage 3

“I’m restless. Things are calling me away. My hair is being pulled by the stars again. Anaïs Nin”

Written for MindLoveMisery’s Menagerie Writing Prompt #118 Collage 3″

~ * ~ * ~ * ~*~

Childhood was oneness. Singleness.

The unsubstantial “Alone does not equal loneliness.”

Wrapped in my imagination, I tried to comfort myself.

Wrapped in my tears, I tried to justify me.

To dream of specialness. The quality that would pull your hair.

I blew dandelion fluff into the greater world. Into Horton’s gentle trunk. “A who is important no matter how small.”

“A person’s a person, no matter how small.” Dr. Seuss, Horton Hears  a Who

a Postcards [to] My Edge – not Carrie Fisher’s.

Two wheel bike when turned 14. Stolen. Many times. Always returned as seat was a b****d.

Couldn’t pedal to paradise. On the inside looking out.

If the playground is empty. Night or dawn nigh.

I can not pass a set of swings.

I swing high to dreams. Low to non-achievements.

As an adult, there is loneliness. Lost love. Stolen happiness.

What goes around, comes around.

If I only knew at two that my life was to be caught in a Mobius loop.

An Escher stretch. Of hands drawing hands. As up is down.

Hieronymus Bosch interprets evil and its disarrangements.

~ * ~ * ~ * ~*~

Alone in a crowd: “You can go your own way, go your own way
You can call it another lonely day. You can go you own way” “Go Your Own Way,” Fleetwood Mac

“Dodging your memories a field of knives. Always on the outside, looking in on other’s lives.” “Love Will Come to You” Indigo Girls is the correct one.

 

(Razor’s edge reference in Somerset Maugham’s book and 2 movies: kathopanishad : “The path to salvation is narrow and as difficult to walk as a razor’s edge” “or [i]’ts epigraph reads, ‘The sharp edge of a razor is difficult to pass over; thus the wise say the path to Salvation is hard’ taken from a verse in the Katha-Upanishad.”)

{This is my response to MMLM’s writing prompt # 118; collage #3. The Blenza has 2 entries for me. The 2nd is the correct one which links back to this post. The first to an earlier post: “his dog a hexagon.”}

18 thoughts on “aloneness is oneness

  1. aseriesofdreams August 9, 2015 / 2:27 am

    My son can relate to this since he’s an only child. I was not and was never alone. Your words I see in him.

    Like

    • phylor August 18, 2015 / 5:37 am

      Being an only means learning self-sufficiency, making your own play. I think you will do fine with your son — your concern shows how good a mother you are.

      Like

  2. Vagrant Rhodia August 6, 2015 / 8:02 pm

    Such beautiful sounds and symbols from your words :) Love it in other words lol

    Like

  3. Sheri August 3, 2015 / 8:39 am

    Very powerful, really moved me.

    Like

    • phylor August 3, 2015 / 8:53 am

      Thanks!
      It feels good when something I write impacts like that.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. mindlovemisery August 3, 2015 / 2:13 am

    This is gorgeous! I agree with Michael some amazing insights! I was an only chiid so I don’t need to guess lo

    Like

    • phylor August 3, 2015 / 8:44 am

      People have all these assumptions about onlies. Most are not true. We’re not stereotypes, we are us.

      Liked by 1 person

      • mindlovemisery August 3, 2015 / 9:50 am

        People have stereotypes about a lot things, people are idiots :-P

        Like

  5. Valida Faire August 3, 2015 / 1:22 am

    Specialness that would pull your hair–what a striking description!!

    Like

    • phylor August 3, 2015 / 8:43 am

      I didn’t know how to respond to Nin’s comment. Then an image came to mind of stars literally pulling at her hair.

      Like

      • Valida Faire August 3, 2015 / 2:39 pm

        I love it–“steal-worthy”! Or should I say, “borrow, with credit/links”.

        Like

        • phylor August 5, 2015 / 10:45 am

          Probably best to say “borrow, with credit/links” in all fairness to the writer/prompter whose words created the image inside my head.

          Like

          • Valida Faire August 5, 2015 / 2:31 pm

            Well, I would never “steal”–always ask to borrow with credit/links.

            Like

  6. HumaAq August 2, 2015 / 11:48 pm

    The perspective I never thought of.. Very sentimental piece. Enjoyed it much

    Like

    • phylor August 3, 2015 / 8:41 am

      I love the way folks take different perspectives when they create. As you mention, it’s good to see how others view the prompt/challenge.

      Liked by 1 person

  7. summerstommy2 August 2, 2015 / 11:24 pm

    Wow what amazing insights….not being an only child I can only guess at what that is like….I loved how you used the collage…

    Like

    • phylor August 3, 2015 / 8:33 am

      Thank you.
      I always wanted an older brother, lol.
      We moved ALOT as well.

      Like

I love dialogue. Do you?

