bastard in bonfire light

 A piece of flash fiction in response to Mindlovemisery’s Menagerie, Wordle 72.

Colour photograph

Spectators gather around a bonfire at Himley Hall near Dudley, on 6 November 2010…

Sam Roberts – http://www.flickr.com/photos/kaisers0ze/5162928832/

“Worship”

*~*~*~**~*~

bastard in bonfire light

I caught a glimpse of the bastard in bonfire light, bonfire night. Letting loose the rubble of his intent; a layer of memories.

Me as a supplicant, groveling for love and attention. Wallowing in self-pity. Flitching from his touch. Hiding in mind-corners to avoid fits of self-loathing; the piques he displayed while  off toy-soldiering.

Molding me. Grooming me for trickle of pain; ecstasy of pleasure.

Tenaciously, holding onto my circumspectional, liminal hope. Hiding the increasing bulge in my tummy so, darling child, you will live to see sunrise, taste autumn, smell solstice. I watch sunset through your sparking hazel-grey eyes. Touch your face, precious tiny one, then you are gone. {word count: 110}

19 thoughts on “bastard in bonfire light

  1. julespaige August 7, 2015 / 2:39 pm

    To gift all people with the benefit of the doubt until….
    and then we must protect them, the children any way we can.
    Some choices are not meant for the weak. And sometimes memories are the only connections we can hope for.

    Thanks for your kind words on my fiction to the prompt. It would be nice if we all had mothers, parents who were good listeners.

    Like

    • phylor August 18, 2015 / 5:34 am

      Replies have disappeared!
      Weakness and strength — emotions we must overcome

      Liked by 1 person

      • julespaige August 18, 2015 / 6:59 am

        I think I had an issue while on vacation with replies… a bad internet connection.
        We’ll live.

        Emotions are a tricky widget. :) I just spied the Marilyn Monroe quote! I was in a restaurant that had a statue of her from the iconic photo of her dress being blown up from under.
        I like the Alcott quote too. The quote on pain could also apply to unpleasant memories.

        Like

  2. The Real Cie August 4, 2015 / 10:15 pm

    Wonderful and creepy. There are some truly awful people out there. I’ve been involved with more than one abuser, though never, as far as I know, a pedophile.

    Like

    • phylor August 5, 2015 / 10:36 am

      Thankfully, my experience with pedophiles is second hand through those abused, or with horrific stories about the church and pedophile members.
      You are so right. There are some awful people — I would say evil — out there. The world is a scary place.

      Like

  3. Valida Faire August 3, 2015 / 6:51 pm

    Oh my, Phylor–this was so good I didn’t want it to stop–More, MORE!

    Like

    • phylor August 4, 2015 / 9:52 pm

      There could be more. Perhaps a prompt will jiggle it out of my mind.

      Like

  4. summerstommy2 August 3, 2015 / 2:07 pm

    Very clever entertaining and such a great use or circumspect. There was also that sentiment of love expressed at the end. Well done.

    Like

    • phylor August 4, 2015 / 10:01 pm

      Thank you. Glad you liked my new word: circumspectional.
      Occasionally, I move beyond my circumspectulative liminals to have “love” appear in a nice sense.

      Like

      • summerstommy2 August 5, 2015 / 1:14 am

        Well love I do believe can be in a nice sense……but it’s wonderful to see you wordsmithing like a woman possessed.

        Like

        • phylor August 5, 2015 / 11:26 am

          Thank you for putting wordsmithing in the same sentence as me. That is a fine compliment.
          And, now I have a new way to describe my deviant and other behaviour. Rather than it being my evil twin sister doing the deed, I can say I was possessed. lol Now to decide who is possessing me, lol.

          Like

            • phylor August 5, 2015 / 12:43 pm

              Yes. Finally something I have a choice about!

              Like

  5. imagineambition August 3, 2015 / 8:45 am

    I didn’t know wordles were prompts! That’s a great idea! I also enjoyed the deep emption in this. Very good idda.

    Like

    • phylor August 3, 2015 / 8:55 am

      Thank you.
      MMLM’s weekly wordles challenge the mind and creativity.
      The wordles are posted on Mondays if you would like to play along.

      Like

  6. mindlovemisery August 3, 2015 / 8:18 am

    This really packs an emotional punch, that ending really sticks in the sternum

    Like

    • phylor August 3, 2015 / 8:45 am

      I hope the little one is going into hiding not into her father’s arms!

      Like

I love dialogue. Do you?

