Tale Weaver #26; my Canadian inuksuk

1024px-Inuksugalait_Foxe-PI_2002-07-26[1]

Foxe’s Point Traditional Inuksuk

In 1940, Woody Guthrie wrote “This Land is Your Land.” The lyrics describe an “iconic road trip” across America.  Popularized in the 1960’s by folk singers such as Bob Dylan,  Bruce Springsteen considers it, “about one of the most beautiful songs ever written.” The Canadian lyrics were penned later.

This is my “riff” on “This Land is Your Land” Canadian style. My inuksuk would lead me on a journey. From coast to coast to coast.

Watching the sun rise in Atlantic Canada. See the orange horizon. The sea waking up and stretching to begin the day. One stands tall in Gros Morne National Park in Newfoundland, another along Nova Scotia beaches.

Inuksuk point me towards the frozen northern ocean. Sensing the stillness, silence of the Arctic Circle landscapes. Seeking the Northwest Passage to the sea.

Travel south through the pine forests. Smell the campfire. Hear the traditional stories told, songs sung. Past the family farms, towns and cities. Inuksuk stand along ancient travel routes, train tracks and old highways.

Then cross granite and escarpment, now heading west. Inuksuk would greet me on the shores of the Great Lakes and beyond. Over the flat Prairies, with mountains full ahead.

Along twisty roads through the mountain gaps, plunging into rail tunnels.  Begin to smell sea tang. Perfumed air as the sky begins to orange-up again. Ferry cross to Vancouver Island to watch the sun sink below the horizon, turning the sea a fiery orange.

A trek from coast to coast to coast. Discovering myself as I discover Canada.

10 thoughts on “Tale Weaver #26; my Canadian inuksuk

  1. summerstommy2 August 15, 2015 / 4:08 pm

    This is wonderfully vivid and engaging. I do love explanation and your application of it to the tale.

    Like

    • phylor August 15, 2015 / 7:56 pm

      Thank you. It was an interesting writing project, even if I made the prompt myself, lol.

      Like

      • summerstommy2 August 15, 2015 / 8:38 pm

        Well it challenged me. To me that’s a good challenge.

        Like

        • phylor August 16, 2015 / 8:44 am

          Yes, a good challenge allows you to meet it, grow from it, and in the end enjoy the process!

          Like

  2. Valida Faire August 14, 2015 / 1:32 pm

    I was wondering about you–how’re you doing? I love “orange-up”!!

    Like

    • phylor August 15, 2015 / 7:57 pm

      Doing okay. How are things with you?
      Orange-up came to mind — I must admit I like it too, lol.

      Like

      • Valida Faire August 15, 2015 / 11:15 pm

        Hi dear heart–I’m doing better!! Well, mood-wise, but physically I’m toast–have been cleaning like a madwoman for the HUD inspection Monday. Thank God I’m done–just little touch ups tomorrow. I feel OLD! But I confess it’s gratifying to see “clean”–I’m not real big on that aspect of the June Cleaver persona, though I favor her in the cook/bake area. I suspect I’ll be using your color phrase frequently now–no matter what color, it will work with “Up”!! Keep hanging in there–you are loved and appreciated, you know–even by long-distance strangers/crazy persons…

        Like

        • phylor August 16, 2015 / 8:45 am

          Glad to hear you are hanging in there! Sometimes a dose of physical activity — even if cleaning — can help. Gets the mind somewhere else!

          Like

          • phylor August 16, 2015 / 1:09 pm

            Don’t worry — I know there are folks like you who care. And who like my crazy words.

            Like

          • Valida Faire August 16, 2015 / 3:12 pm

            I so agree, Phylor–and I used to clean house, move the furniture around for that very therapeutic reason. But I’ve gotten older, less able, and way lazy!

            Like

I love dialogue. Do you?

