there was a time

There was a time, not so long ago, I’d talk, you listened.

I was so fragile then.

Bent down like a lily in spring storms, you helped me keep the madness at bay.

Our friendship was fertile, shining like Christmas ornaments caught up in firelight.

Then our number went from two to twenty-three.

Full of scorn and innuendoes.

Uncomfortable and scratchy.

Petrous like the crinolines I wore as a child.

Written in response to Mindlovemisery’s Menagerie Wordle # 74

8 thoughts on “there was a time

  1. Valida Faire August 17, 2015 / 5:29 pm

    Oh my, this is good, Phylor–I especially love that a friendship would be like Christmas ornaments caught in firelight–WOW, that sounds so wonderful!! If ever I’d like to borrow that phrase/image, I would of course credit and link to you.

    Like

    • phylor August 17, 2015 / 9:31 pm

      By all means, borrow away! I’m glad you enjoyed the post.

      Like

    • phylor August 18, 2015 / 7:51 am

      The wordle words formed particular thoughts in my head. Glad you liked the ornament quote — I thought of pleasant times and how they make a glow of warmth and comfort.

      Like

      • Valida Faire August 18, 2015 / 6:32 pm

        I LOVE the wordles–and the ornament image is so rich.

        Like

  2. summerstommy2 August 17, 2015 / 4:16 am

    Excellent and powerful use of the wordle. Strong message contained within your words.

    Like

    • phylor August 17, 2015 / 8:20 am

      Thank you. Excellent choice of words to work from. As usual!

      Like

I love dialogue. Do you?

