if you prick me, do not i bleed

- cannedimagination.tumblr.com

Image: cannedimagination.tumblr.com

I am only mortal

if you prick me, do not I bleed (plagiarized Shakespeare, Shylock’s speech, Merchant of Venice)

tenuous links form

empty hallways lined with mirrors

cruel images of my life

I close my eyes

against the reflection,

depiction of monsters, demons

that dwell inside of me

I am only mortal

if you prick me, do not I bleed

always, without release

blackberry brambles

tear clothes til I

am naked, shivering

will some-one offer mantle to protect

the cold and lifeless me

I am only mortal

if you prick me, do not I bleed

drops of blood

spread like rain

on drought carved

landscape of the heart

deep need to

heal the wounds of a life time

I am only mortal

if you prick me, do not I bleed

tao of only

trek of burning pain

seeking salvation

absolution

from the horror of being me

I am only mortal

if you prick me, do not I bleed

3 thoughts on “if you prick me, do not i bleed

  1. Valida Faire August 18, 2015 / 7:07 pm

    Wowza–this about knocked me over physically. I grabbed onto the “blackberry brambles” for future use–a different phrase struck me immediately.

    Like

    • phylor August 19, 2015 / 8:07 am

      I’ve been consumed by thorny bushes like blackberry brambles and found myself so entangled it was difficult to get out. It’s a symbol, to me, of being trapped or feeling that way.
      Thank you for the nice comment.

      Like

      • Valida Faire August 19, 2015 / 8:09 am

        It’s a fabulous symbol–and I went a slightly different direction when I used it in a draft I’m working on; but I suspect you’ll see that it works just as well.

        Like

I love dialogue. Do you?

