my two knees

A Youth on His Knees in Front of a Lady - Konstantin Somov

Artist: Konstantin Somov 

Image: A youth on his knees in front of a lady

Source: wikiart.org

my two knees

squared off

bones protrude

battle-scarred

skin thin raw

mottled bruises

dried out scabs

my two knees

I fall on them

walk on them

grovel on them

beg on them

pray on them

take your hand

to pull me up

off them

cleanse the blood

bandage the wounds

my two knees

no longer

wobble, tear, creak

so strange that

we are four knees

fall together

on softer ground

my two knees

Written for: Music Friday # 6: stand up (Mindlovemisery’s Menagerie)

30 thoughts on “my two knees

  1. humbird August 30, 2015 / 12:02 pm

    Wonderful poem, situation, nuances and characters!

    Like

    • phylor August 30, 2015 / 3:02 pm

      Thank you for your kind comments.

      Like

  2. Bastet August 29, 2015 / 12:57 pm

    Simply lovely .. poor guy on his two knees … it’s definitely time he does stand up I think!

    Like

    • phylor August 29, 2015 / 7:59 pm

      I agree — there comes a point where if you don’t stand up, you wear your knees thin. Thanks for the nice compliment.

      Like

      • Bastet August 29, 2015 / 11:28 pm

        My pleasure to read a lovely and humourus poem!

        Like

  3. Widow Veil August 29, 2015 / 5:20 am

    I wrote for your prompt–but don’t see a pingback over at MLMM; in fact, I’m not sure my pingbacks ever worked over there. Maybe there’s a time delay–or maybe I don’t understand pingbacks: I thought that if you have the link to the blog post/prompt in your post somewhere, it showed up as a pingback on the originator’s blog… Well, anyway–I can’t waste energy over this; I just wanted you to know that I wrote a Van Gogh post–that’s really all I cared about. Since I don’t “link up”, I don’t expect anyone to notice, read my responses to prompts.

    Like

    • phylor August 29, 2015 / 8:18 pm

      I think your ping backs have shown up in the past. There is a time lag — I’ve thought that my pings have ponged!

      You can enter the url and name of your prompt in the blenza — the image at the end of the prompt post. Click on it, and change the url to the one for your prompt post.

      You can place the url for your post as a comment — it becomes part of the dialogue. Ping backs show up in the comment section.

      If you link back to the prompt it should work. I embed mine through a word or phrase. You put the url for the prompt post as it exists rather than “hide” it within a word or phrase.

      I’ll check to see if you pinged.
      “I don’t expect anyone to notice, read my responses to prompts.” In terms of Tale Weaver, don’t worry about whether folks read your post or no. Some of my Tale Weaver prompts haven’t had much “traffic” so there wouldn’t be that many folks checking the ping backs, cut and paste urls, going through the MLMM image “linky” at the end of the prompt.

      We can write for a very small audience — an audience of one, ourselves. If your words resonate with someone, then they are part of your audience. I can think that # of people who respond, comment, etc. is important. Maybe a judgement on my writing. As you say, why write.
      But if your words touch an audience of one, you, then you are writing for yourself. If someone else reads it, then your audience grows.

      It has been very hard for me to come to this point. That if I write about mental health issues through my poetry, it’s therapeutic for me. If someone else reads it and says, “that’s how I feel,” then its a bonus.

      Reading through the comments on a post, you often see that folks put the url to their response to the prompt in their comment. So, if I read your response to a TW, I might say, “This is how I dealt with the challenge: and put the url with in that comment.”

      Don’t know if any of this makes sense or helps.

      Off to see if you pinged. Check the comments section of this Tale Weaver — I’ll leave you a note about what to do if there isn’t a ping.

      Like

      • Widow Veil August 30, 2015 / 9:59 am

        Oh My, I didn’t mean to put you to so much work–though I love the “ping–ponged” bit! I used to put my link in the comment box….but now that I may not be doing all the prompts, I was only concerned that certain individuals see a pingback… As you said, there’s often a time delay–and anyway, what the heck am I spending my energy worrying about this for?!! I mainly wanted you to see my entry–since we’d been talking “Vincent”… Hope you’re doing well–we lost power all day yesterday and night, so I had an enforced break! Read a paperback by flashlight till it got to heavy to hold the “torch”!

        Like

        • phylor August 30, 2015 / 10:30 am

          I did finally get to read your lovely post on Vincent. I have been imposing my own computer shutoff even without a power failure!
          Reading a book is a good way to make the time pass.

          Like

          • Widow Veil August 30, 2015 / 11:45 am

            You’re very disciplined to impose your own “unplugging”–I fear I’m too addicted to these blogs, well the people, really.

            Like

            • phylor August 30, 2015 / 3:03 pm

              I had to put the limitations on. I don’t sleep well sometimes so I was on the computer way too much! Other things just weren’t getting done.
              I’m not as limiting as I said I would be. So I cheat.

              Like

  4. Widow Veil August 28, 2015 / 5:14 pm

    Very interesting, Phylor (and here I am, the old Val–trying to keep a lower profile).

    Like

    • phylor August 28, 2015 / 8:04 pm

      Well, hello. Hope things get better. Remember, we are all important and special in our own way.

      Like

      • Widow Veil August 28, 2015 / 8:23 pm

        Things are better, thanks–I have no illusions about my importance…the world would turn contentedly without me.

        Like

        • phylor August 28, 2015 / 8:33 pm

          Not so sure. A who is a who no matter how small.
          Importance does mean worthiness.
          If your words resonate with just one person, you’re important to that person.

          Like

          • Widow Veil August 28, 2015 / 8:46 pm

            Thank you, Phylor–and I agree with the last bit. My issues of non-essential being-ness are less to do with writing and blog companions, than real-world people who are oblivious/clueless twits.

            Like

            • phylor August 29, 2015 / 3:27 pm

              my computer has ben acting up. If will she behaves, I will ty again later to comment on your post and how to make the ping backs work.

              Like

              • Widow Veil August 30, 2015 / 10:01 am

                Wonder if you’re getting stormy weather too??

                Like

                • phylor August 30, 2015 / 10:31 am

                  Not weather, just my computer! Gremlins lurk in any technology I come in contact with.

                  Like

                  • Widow Veil August 30, 2015 / 11:43 am

                    Have you checked your undies for Kryptonite?? That could be the problem :)

                    Like

                    • phylor August 30, 2015 / 3:04 pm

                      Is that a reference to Calvin and Hobbes? A wonderful comic that I don’t think is still being drawn. Seems to me there was something about underpants.

                      Like

                    • Widow Veil August 30, 2015 / 3:19 pm

                      I’m not up on Calvin and Hobbes, I was just reaching for something humorous–Kryptonite was the only thing Superman couldn’t withstand…if I’m remembering correctly.

                      Like

                    • phylor August 30, 2015 / 5:48 pm

                      I got the superman reference! If I was a superwoman, I would really watch our. There was a reference to C & H re undies.

                      Like

                    • Widow Veil August 30, 2015 / 5:50 pm

                      Ohh, I’m so out of the loop where comics are involved….

                      Like

                    • phylor August 30, 2015 / 10:12 pm

                      Calvin Hobbes were comics quite a while ago. And, if I remember correctly, it was rocket ship underpants. I’ll have to double check, lol

                      Like

                    • Widow Veil August 30, 2015 / 11:47 pm

                      Oh, I did recognize the names–but not sure I ever read much comics beyond “Peanuts”–my fave, Snoopy.

                      Like

            • phylor August 29, 2015 / 7:54 pm

              Misspeak! I meant to imply that worthiness and importance are based on small achievements, so if your words resonate with just one person, you are important to that person.

              Like

I love dialogue. Do you?

