Frozen Moments: 9/11, 2014

14 years since 9/11. Today, terrorism and terrorists kill the innocent; use a skewed version of religion to justify horrors done. Those fleeing Africa, Asia, and the Middle East are not all migrants, or economic refugees. So many are escaping lives ripped apart by acts of terror.
So, as we remember the horror of 9/11, death of the innocent in New York, Washington, and Shanksville, and the continuing deaths of first responders and others exposed to the toxins, let’s also think of the innocents around the world who’s very being is under a constant death sentence from terrorism. Just as we must remain vigilant — not all terrorists came from away.

(original post: Frozen Moments: 9/11, 2014)

Phylor's Blog

During a visit to in-laws in the late ‘80s, we took a trip to the city to see the “twin towers.” As we were about to enter and take an elevator to the sky, the Goodyear Blimp was overhead. This picture now has a strange foreshadowing.

There I am. In the sky, atop one of the “twin towers.” Hubby doesn’t like heights; I had to convince him to come out to the observation deck.

A panoramic view of the city, taken from the World Trade Center

A once familiar skyscape taken from a very small boat in very chopped waters, 1995.

I remember my first horrifying glimpse, on tv, of the smudgy New York skyline with a huge gap in it. As I grasped the significance, my knees went weak.

Today we remember and we honour those who gave their lives on 9/11 and the first responders (and others) who…

View original post 97 more words

4 thoughts on “Frozen Moments: 9/11, 2014

  1. Valida Muse September 11, 2015 / 7:02 pm

    It’s so true that not all terrorist come from “away”–some are next door neighbors, family members–terrorism isn’t always a bomb or a gun…… Amazing photos, Phylor–especially the one of the blimp so near the towers, foreshadowing–Wow. I obsessively watch the documentaries, can’t seem to pull myself from the unbelievable footage of the planes “in” the towers….last night as I watched yet another program, I was thinking that it was just like how many of us watched President Kennedy get shot–over and over, unable to take in the reality. Oh this crazy world–no wonder we’re so f-ing depressed.

    Like

    • phylor September 11, 2015 / 8:20 pm

      I have never watched footage of the planes actually hitting the towers, nor of the towers falling.
      I was teaching at a university in Atlantic Canada, and heard people talking about it in such a surreal way, it seemed like a new movie. But, my knees did buckle when I went to the Student Union lounge and saw the NYC skyline without the towers. Just smoke billowing where they should stand.
      My parents bought their first tv after JFK was assassinated, so the many of the images for me are later, such as MLK jr, Robert Kennedy.

      Like

      • Valida Muse September 12, 2015 / 2:22 am

        The morning of 9/11, my Mom was, as always, watching CNN–what I recall most was probably what most viewers thought, that it was just a terrible accident, a plane crashing into the first tower. Of course as the day played out, we all were stripped of any and every illusion–no accident, pure evil. Nothing would be as it was before, ever again.

        Like

        • phylor September 12, 2015 / 4:32 pm

          No, nothing can be. Lots of thoughts on this so need to organize before I respond. Or, I might string comments (yours included with permission) together, with my response to your latest email (yet to be written down) as a post-9/11 post.
          Let me know if you are comfortable with me using your comments in my post.

          Like

I love dialogue. Do you?

