embryo

synapse

She comes into the world in a copse of thorn trees. As she morphs from embryo to nebulous figure, the copse grows thicker. Had there ever been a door she might open, the stiletto sharp thorns close for her.

Like an infection, her mind only thinks of what she can not have, and what the chosen, those whose lives are ichor and diamonds, possess.

She puts on the airy layered dress of pastel colours. She braids her hair with lavender.  She steps forward, one last exhale.

With all the atavistic strength she poses, she pushes against the thorns. Her world is now cranberry red. Soaked into her clothes as her flesh, her soul, her spirit strips away.

The last thorn impales her heart. To show to the world, what a menace crawls out.

She imagines she is an embryo again. An embryo in a copse of cottonwoods.

A mostly free fall prosetry (from memory in the shower) for Mindlovemisery’s Menagerie Wordle #80

8 thoughts on “embryo

  1. any1mark66 September 29, 2015 / 9:33 pm

    Menace crawls out. Love the line. Nice done

    Like

  2. luckyjc007 September 29, 2015 / 6:43 pm

    Very colorful and quite vivid. I could almost feel the pain (“pushes against the thorn”s)..”.Soaked into her clothes as her flesh, her soul, her spirit strips away.” Great job!

    Like

    • phylor September 29, 2015 / 11:11 pm

      Thanks — the word cranberry leaped at me! I love the colour, the taste (I make a wicked cranberry sauce), the smell. So, my imagination/muse was already cranberry(-sauce-)stained!

      Like

  3. J Lapis September 29, 2015 / 3:11 am

    Oh my, such lovely writing–and I agree with Yves, I felt I was there as well.

    Like

  4. mindlovemisery September 29, 2015 / 12:59 am

    With all the atavistic strength she poses, she pushes against the thorns. Her world is now cranberry red. Soaked into her clothes as her flesh, her soul, her spirit strips away. Such vivid imagery in this one, I felt I was witnessing this firsthand

    Like

    • phylor September 29, 2015 / 1:09 am

      It’s your words that make the story.
      If I have to think, I can’t write no matter how good your words, collages, prompts are.
      Tonight, I saw the embryo in the thorn trees — you’re wordle words gave her life.
      Thank you.

      Liked by 1 person

      • mindlovemisery September 29, 2015 / 1:08 pm

        That is so sweet of you to say thank you, you are very talented!

        Like

I love dialogue. Do you?

