I visualized whirled peas @ the Vegemite Vegemart

As I walked out in the aisles of produce. As I walked out in produce one day. . . . .

Yes, we have no bananas. We have no bananas today. Vegemite Vegemart’s Weekly Give-Away/Take-Away: Free Groucho Marx Bobble-Head with every 2 pounds of exotic fruit purchased.

Strawberry fields forever getting their thrills on blueberry hills. A Vegemite Vegemart’s Mix or Match BoGo.

All we are saying, is give peas a chance. Vegemite Vegemart supports local growers: Lennon’s Farms Yoko peas $2.50/lb.

I’d jump up and down and hope you’d toss me a carrot.  Wilson Bros., Sand Dune Farms Beach Baby carrots: $1.50/bunch.

The moral of this story, the moral of this song . . . visualize whirled peas and we’d be all getting along.

Composed, while munching a salad, for Mindlovemisery’s Menagerie Tale Weaver #33: When Fruit & Vegetables Spoke to Me

We are the happy veggies from Vegemite Vegemarts.
13 thoughts on “I visualized whirled peas @ the Vegemite Vegemart

  1. Oliana October 4, 2015 / 12:19 pm

    Oh this was very clever!!! It was actually pleasant to imagine these songs and it brought back some nice memories. Now I have to look up Vegemite…

    Like

    • phylor October 4, 2015 / 12:54 pm

      Michael is the expert on Vegemite. It’s, I think, the Australian version of Marmite.
      Glad you enjoyed my tale, and that it brought back nice remembrances.

      Like

      • Oliana October 4, 2015 / 5:30 pm

        Yes, I was thinking of Marmite too …so salty!!

        Like

        • phylor October 5, 2015 / 12:20 pm

          Michael (Oct. 3rd comment) indicates that Vegemite (I keep writing Vegemate — 2 Austrialisms for the price of one) is very salty too.

          Liked by 1 person

  2. J Lapis October 4, 2015 / 12:20 am

    I love all the song references.

    Like

    • phylor October 4, 2015 / 11:35 am

      Thanks.
      I couldn’t get yes we have no bananas out of my head, ear worm and all that, so used it as inspiration for the prompt.
      Love the picture Michael used of the gogglely-eyed veggies!

      Like

      • J Lapis October 4, 2015 / 5:09 pm

        Yes, those veggies were almost scary!

        Like

  3. summerstommy2 October 3, 2015 / 11:34 pm

    Along with most Australian kids I grew up on vegemite, still when I need a salt fix I make some toast and smear it with vegemite.It is an acquired taste and I think having it on your rusk when a baby acclimatizes you to it.
    Great post with such a clever use of song and the things we associate with fruit and vegetables….

    Like

    • phylor October 4, 2015 / 3:13 am

      Thank you.
      Acquiring a taste for Vegemite is related to longitude, latitude and attitude.

      Like

    • phylor October 4, 2015 / 11:31 am

      Thanks!
      I love the picture for the prompt!

      Like

I love dialogue. Do you?

