Coat & Scarf

“The image is called “Somewhere in Between” by Anne Worner copyright CC BY-SA 2.0”

I recognized the scarf furled underneath his beard.

Then the coat.

“John,” I asked, amazed at what I was seeing.

The man muttered something out of my range of hearing.

“John,” I asked again, tugging at his memory.

He reached down and absently patted my head, without a moment’s glance.

Then the  coat, the scarf and the hand were gone.

 

Microfiction: 60 words. With no editing. Free flow, first thoughts. For Mindlovemisery’s Menagerie Photo Challenge 84.

And, welcome Pat – MMLM has gremlins abounding.

14 thoughts on “Coat & Scarf

  1. kutukamus October 30, 2015 / 12:41 am

    The ambiance fits—it feels so ‘surreally in-between’ :)

    Like

  2. luckyjc007 October 26, 2015 / 11:28 pm

    Wonderful story…love the dialogue. :)

    Like

    • tale weaver/ing October 27, 2015 / 1:48 am

      Thank you. An amazing image to write to. Makes the process easier for me.

      Like

    • tale weaver/ing October 27, 2015 / 1:53 am

      Thank you.
      Looking into those eyes, scanning that face — there is so much emotion captured within the frame. I guess some of it spilt over into my few words.

      Like

  3. summerstommy2 October 26, 2015 / 5:00 pm

    I too loved this piece those moments you can capture that say so much….brilliant…

    Like

  4. J Lapis October 26, 2015 / 4:51 pm

    Phylor, I was so fascinated with your micro fiction response to this, that I had to quick go look at the challenge/prompt. I LOVE your story!! Initially I thought the prompt was to do 60-word micro-fiction…but I see it’s the usual, “whatever” we want to write. Anyway, I’m ramble-babbling–just to say I really like yours, And that it inspired me to take it on too…whether poem, or micro-fiction. Hope your day is going well–I just started mine… love to you, from afar… JL

    Like

    • tale weaver/ing October 27, 2015 / 1:55 am

      Thank you for receiving my piece so enthusiastically. I do hope you take on the challenge!

      Like

      • J Lapis October 27, 2015 / 2:03 am

        I have it in my Drafts, so we shall see… ;)

        Like

  5. clothespeggedpat October 26, 2015 / 2:50 pm

    This is an amazing and fascinating response to the image Phylor – I love how you have captured a “moment frozen in time” – it has transported me to the scene … as a silent witness ….

    “John,” I asked again, tugging at his memory.

    He reached down and absently patted my head, without a moment’s glance.

    Then the coat, the scarf and the hand were gone.

    I love the line …. tugging at his memory ….. that is such an apt way of describing something … the need to “know”

    And the last line …. it’s a perfect closing.

    Great job :)

    Cheers
    Pat

    Like

    • tale weaver/ing October 27, 2015 / 1:56 am

      Thank you Pat. The image is so striking, I found after I had written a bit, that his face/eyes told the story well, too.

      Liked by 1 person

      • clothespeggedpat October 27, 2015 / 8:13 am

        Quite right you are :)

        Like

I love dialogue. Do you?

