youthful balance

photograph by Jonathan Pendleton from Unsplash (free-to-use photo source)

There we go

youthful balance

intact

your black converse

steadier than my

fashion-forward

ankle boots.

If I lean

too far towards

the middle

my hand brushing

yours

will you catch me

will you hug me

will our youthful

balance be gone?

Our writing 101 assignment is to write a story/poem based on a single image. Either one of the four provided, or chose another from a free-to-use photo site like Unsplash.

I am horrible at rail-walking even though I spent three years living about two miles out of town along the tracks.

Never had a good sense of balance.

11 thoughts on “youthful balance

  1. maynotbesoanonymous November 12, 2015 / 2:41 am

    I was a ballerina so I might say I can be good at balancing if I have to do it now but honestly, I have never tried rail walking in my entire life.

    Like

    • tale weaver/ing November 12, 2015 / 1:26 pm

      If you can safely do so, it is actually fun. With your training, your feet should slide more easily along the rail.
      Can be hard to find rails that are not used and still intact to play on.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. J Lapis November 6, 2015 / 4:09 am

    Well done. If I ever had good balance, it’s long gone now.

    Like

  3. summerstommy2 November 5, 2015 / 5:11 pm

    I love that youthful balance metaphor, so much easier when we were younger…..beautifully done…

    Like

    • tale weaver/ing November 6, 2015 / 6:48 am

      Easier to balance, I think, before we realized that was what we were attempting.
      Thank you for the nice compliment.

      Like

        • tale weaver/ing November 6, 2015 / 1:55 pm

          And thank you for the wonderful card! I hope you received my reply in which I reveal all!

          Like

          • summerstommy2 November 6, 2015 / 1:56 pm

            Yes and as I thought you are still a child…..have a great day….

            Like

            • tale weaver/ing November 6, 2015 / 3:58 pm

              I’m having a sleepy day so far. Today I shall be childish, tomorrow, child-like.

              Like

I love dialogue. Do you?

