writing 101: social media and Dr. Seuss

Day 7 Writing 101: let social media inspire you.

Our mission, embedding in our post, and responding to tweeted comment/quote of our choosing. When I publish a post, two (why two?) tweets go out. I was amazed at the changes/improvements to the tweeter experience. Still unlikely, without a smart phone, tweeting will become a hobby, but another interesting exercise.

Dr. Seuss is my hero. So, without even having to sign in, I did a #Dr.Seussquotes search. I scrolled til I found just the right quote with visuals. Fingers crossed:

Fantasy: touching shimmering moon-rise nightscapes; colour of musical notes; taking tea with fairies; dancing with fireflies; wildflower meadow perfume; dandelion fluff snow storms; skirt with rainbow translucent filmy, floating, frothy, foamy layers spinning and spiraling; freedom; enough whimsy to sweep clean the sad, lonely dark corners; unbirthdays; helium balloons; oat cakes; chocolate flourless torte. Fantasy is the fantastic; the fantabulous; the world inside my head. Fantasy is the whimsical, magical, pixie dust to be sprinkled on your breakfast cereal. Fantasy smudges the stark lines of life’s charcoal sketch. Fantasy is looking at life through the proper end of a kaleidoscope.

5 thoughts on “writing 101: social media and Dr. Seuss

    • tale weaver/ing November 12, 2015 / 1:18 pm

      Thank you, Cheri. Dr. Seuss has said such wonderful things in his books and elsewhere.
      This was an interesting exercise, and I learned to embed, as I mentioned.
      I even embedded a video in a non-writing 101 post today (Thursday).

      Like

  1. J Lapis November 11, 2015 / 6:06 am

    LOVE this! Truly, fantasy is necessary–I’d be lost without my spouse, Mr Perfect-Invisible.

    Like

      • J Lapis November 12, 2015 / 5:20 pm

        He’s pretty darn wonderful, I must say :)

        Like

I love dialogue. Do you?

