me vs my shadow

DSCN3507 (2)

Caught ya – looking at your reflection in the window today. (shadow)

Well, I don’t have a full length mirror, and your perspective is rather untrustworthy. (me)

Me? Untrustworthy? I lays ‘em as I plays ‘em. You’re the one with perception issues. And, you just binged that stupid Shadow poem – didn’t you.

Well, I . . . .

See, there is very little you can get away with. As long as there is light, there is me. Screenlight. Nightlights. Starlight. Moonlight. No more country living without streetlights.

I’ll take you back to those mountain train tunnels – none of you then. No light, no shadow.

Ideal and idle threats. I know you too well. Remember, I am a projection of you. Not a creation. I stretch farther and longer than you do. You hardly stretch anything at all.

Find someone more interesting, then. I’ve got enough shadows to fight – I don’t need my own giving me grief. Not now. Not ever. If you can’t give me support and a hug, then I don’t need you.

Thanks – after losing my posture, my dignity, my ability to hold my head up high for you. Now, you want comfort. I was there today. Misery is your comfort zone. I have to come along.

Attachment issues? Abandonment issues? I thought my shadow might need physical therapy, but psychotherapy? Only one of us is allowed to be crazy. I’ve already picked me.

You don’t trust yourself. So, you don’t trust me. You listen, but you don’t hear. One of us has to be stable, so I picked me. Maybe we should be a standup comedy duo.

But who’d be the “straightman” like in the Smother’s Brothers? Either both of us are hunched over or trying to elongate the crunched up spine and neck.. . . . . Hey. I could be the ventriloquist, and you could be my dummy.

Thanks – why not the other way ‘round?

Lyrics: Me & My Shadow

Me and my shadow
Strolling down the avenue
Me and my shadow
Not a soul to tell our troubles to

And when it’s twelve o’clock
We climb the stair
We never knock
For nobody’s there

Just me and my shadow
All alone and feelin’ blue

And when it’s twelve o’clock
We climb the stair
We never knock
For nobody’s there

Just me and my shadow
All alone and feelin’ blue

Strangely and jointly composed at 1:45 am for Mindlovemisery’s Menagerie Tale Weaver #39: Shadows 

 

10 thoughts on “me vs my shadow

  1. Bastet November 19, 2015 / 5:27 am

    A lovely tale! I enjoyed it very much!

    Like

    • tale weaver/ing November 19, 2015 / 8:40 pm

      Thank you.
      I’m glad you enjoyed it.
      I thought your shadow story was amazing. If you don’t mind, I’d like to reblog it here. It is so much of a tale weaver’s tale.

      Like

      • Bastet November 20, 2015 / 1:14 am

        Oh … I’d be honoured! Thanks very much, and I’m glad you enjoyed it!

        Like

        • tale weaver/ing November 20, 2015 / 4:19 am

          It’s reblogged and up. Got a like within minutes of the post!

          Like

          • Bastet November 20, 2015 / 11:44 am

            Wow!!! Thanks so much for the reblog, really an honour!

            Like

  2. J Lapis November 12, 2015 / 3:56 am

    Well done–and I do love the nostalgia of Mr Como.

    Like

    • tale weaver/ing November 12, 2015 / 1:04 pm

      He seemed to be a good YouTube pick, tho many folks have covered the song — Al Jolson is created with being one of the writers.

      Like

      • J Lapis November 12, 2015 / 5:28 pm

        Hmm, I didn’t know Al Jolson had a part in the song…it does go back a long ways now.

        Like

  3. summerstommy2 November 12, 2015 / 3:04 am

    You have to imagine an argument between self and shadow as being a bit of a competition to see which might dominate……great take on the image and the shadow prompt my friend…..

    Like

    • tale weaver/ing November 12, 2015 / 1:05 pm

      A battle of wills and wits. Think shadow me might have won this round, lol.
      Thanks for such a great prompt, as always.
      Your story was absolutely fantastic! I see another book of short stories, to go with fairy tales and . . .

      Like

I love dialogue. Do you?

