twin trees

richardloader

image by Richard Loader 

Down by the twin trees, a bustling depot with folks toing and froing. Trains skittering in; skattering out. Whistles. Shouts. Metallic grindings and groanings.

To those whose imaginations didn’t travel, an old tin shed leaned against the rusting remains of a barbed wire fence. “A child’ll get hurt down there.” (50 words)

Written for Mindlovemisery’s Menagerie Photo Challenge #87;

Writing 101, Assignment 13: Play with Word Count (50 word stories)

(The idea with Assignment 13 is to step out of your word count comfort zone. Flash fiction prompts aren’t in my repertoire right now, so I tried my first 50 word story.)

15 thoughts on “twin trees

  1. Bastet November 20, 2015 / 11:54 am

    A great flash fiction … very haiku-ish .. I enjoyed this very much …

    Like

    • tale weaver/ing November 21, 2015 / 12:10 am

      Thank you. Doing Blogging U. has been a very good exercise for me. Not just to post on a regular basis but to stretch my limits. I’ve never tried to write a story in just 50 words. It was 100, so it was a good opportunity to edit down to the essentials.
      I’ve been playing with micropoetry (or what I call micropoetry). Sometimes it just is — I say it in a very few words. Other times, it’s deciding do I edit, or leave longer.
      Glad you enjoyed my twin trees story.

      Like

      • Bastet November 21, 2015 / 1:27 am

        When I started writing on W.P. I did a lot of flash fiction and power shorts, they are fantastic to help one learn to get to the point … then getting into poetry and eventually haiku and Japanese Waka helped a lot to find the road of essentialness – writing in less then 17 syllables making sense is way cool … now I need to figure out what I want to do when I “grow up” :-)

        I really did enjoy your twin tree story very much … I loved the essentialness of it …

        Like

  2. J Lapis November 18, 2015 / 7:59 pm

    I love the challenge of word-limits, and you do great at whatever you write!

    Like

    • J Lapis November 20, 2015 / 9:27 pm

      Hi Phylor–I’m looking at an easy-sounding recipe for Pecan Pie Cookie Bars; if you’d like, I could post it. Let me know :)

      Like

      • tale weaver/ing November 21, 2015 / 12:04 am

        Sure, you can post it — sounds interesting. I’m not sure I bookmarked the link to your recipe blog if that’s where you were going to put it.

        Like

        • J Lapis November 21, 2015 / 1:47 am

          I’ll put it on this blog…haven’t worked the others for awhile now (always sounds like a good idea when I first open them). I’m working on my “fairy tale” post this evening :)

          Like

  3. clothespeggedpat November 18, 2015 / 1:37 pm

    Phylor – thanks for sharing your response to the photo prompt!

    Even though you suggested that you didn’t think you did either prompt justice – I would suggest otherwise.

    Flash is difficult to write – especially if one is forcing oneself to a limited word count – 50 words – tough enough (on my personal blog I often have been writing “53 word poetry” – so I understand). But I think you’ve chosen very particular elements – strong elements – from the image – and have used them as cues to allow for your imagination to play. And I feel like you’ve captured a memory lost in time – bringing it back to life! So yes – great job!

    And you know – nothing says you have to limit yourself to one response to the prompt – if you feel like still playing with the image – do it :)

    Cheers ~ Pat

    Like

    • tale weaver/ing November 21, 2015 / 12:11 am

      I’m writing a piece using your twin trees and 2 Writing 101 prompts (I’m falling behind in my homework). It’s definitely much longer than twin trees, getting too long I’m afraid. It’s been a while since I’ve written so much for a post. Story just keeps going.

      Thank you for the kind words.

      Liked by 1 person

      • clothespeggedpat November 22, 2015 / 7:14 pm

        well we follow where the muse leads and then we “worry” or not about editing and crafting and what have you.

        the important thing? have fun! be inspired! that’s all that really matters. if it feels like “too much work” – trying to keep up – it probably is ;)

        Like

        • tale weaver/ing November 23, 2015 / 1:54 am

          True — right now I feel museless and useless a lot of the time. Doing Writing 101 to get some discipline, some new ideas, and see if I can spark — get those ideas that I’ve spoke of before where I’m not consciously writing — seems to flow from my subconscious brain through my fingers to the screen. Lately, I’ve had to “think,” — scary when I do such things. ;) Looking forward to Tuesday’s image. You pictures always fascinate and captivate me.

          Liked by 1 person

          • clothespeggedpat November 23, 2015 / 6:50 am

            I completely understand …. sometimes we need to “fill the well” – i.e. rest up and absorb before the “sparks” come … but it can be a “blow to the self-esteem.”

            But then, sometimes we need to move through different processes in order to expand our creative skills ….

            thanks Phylor – we’ll see what surprises Tuesday brings ;)

            Like

            • taleweaver/ing November 23, 2015 / 9:30 am

              Oh, sounds interesting! ;) Surprises!
              Thanks for the comments on the writing process. It’s good to hear how others view the art.

              Liked by 1 person

              • clothespeggedpat November 24, 2015 / 7:21 am

                yes ….it makes the process a little easier to deal with when others share their thoughts …. we all face the “creative merry-go-round” at times ;)

                Like

I love dialogue. Do you?

