the colour of madness

 

 

A flight of followings. I saw the collage tonight, and thought colour of madness. I read Michael’s Mona and thought “I wish I was more like Mona.” I read the Wordle words (in italics). Then I free wrote with little editing (too tired to edit these days). The * are footnotes; read at your leisure.

I so loved the ringside seat given me by your madness. Coloured my world in a lapis lazuli glow. Acrobat, chameleon, mad hatter tea party dancer.*  When life smelled brimstonish, you waved cyprus tree branches. You enabled me with your strength. A serum, a tonic, a fillip. Your refusal to ever be obsolescent or mawkish. No false sentiments smelling of green/pink-iced cupcakes left in the rain.** Bowerbird*** performance to attract me: day bed of froth and frill, then tossed and forgotten like our clothes. Hands as gentle as whispy dandelion parachutes. Tracing. Tickling, teasing until I wore the dress of flowers you made me, and you, the crystalline, colour full crown I wrought from my heart. You winked as you lay in your coffin. Moonlight and madness prevail.

* Been thinking of a series of commercials from the 1970s featuring the “Tetley Tea Folk Folk Dance.” An animated group of tea testers in floppy hats and lab coats danced in a circle with bells on the toes of their shoes.

Image from Bing.

** Believe it or not, shopping today I hear “MacArthur Park!” I often find the lyrics below running through my mind when I’m in a lot of pain. Like I was when in the drug store.

MacArthur’s Park is melting in the dark
All the sweet, green icing flowing down
Someone left the cake out in the rain

I don’t think that I can take it
‘Cause it took so long to bake it
And I’ll never have that recipe again, oh noooooo

*** Bowerbird: “They are renowned for their unique courtship behaviour, where males build a structure and decorate it with sticks and brightly coloured objects in an attempt to attract a mate.” See: NatGeo for an amusing short video. Also see these two videos. The first is a full episode (49 minutes) that includes the bowerbird, and the second a shorter video with just the bowerbird. Both star David Attenborough.

 

A bowerbird’s bower.

 

And, these days, I either can’t stay awake or can’t fall asleep. Guess which this was created during.

4 thoughts on “the colour of madness

  1. J Lapis November 23, 2015 / 8:03 pm

    Oh MY, so much here!! I loved the title straight off–wish I’d thought of it! And it’s been ages since I heard “MacArthur Park”–wow, time-machine! Great write–I do hope you get some good rest and pain relief, my friend.

    Like

  2. summerstommy2 November 23, 2015 / 4:41 am

    Ha, that’s a clever take on the collage, I have yet to try the wordle must get to that soon to escape the stresses of the day….some animals have amazing rituals don’t they and the bower bird has always fascinated me…..

    Liked by 1 person

    • taleweaver/ing November 23, 2015 / 9:28 am

      Thanks, Michael! Mona really did inspire me.
      I’ve always been fascinated by bowerbirds as well. Have you ever seen a bower in your travels?
      I also am fascinated by birds of paradise! They have quite the rituals too.
      Hope the wordle helps with the stresses of the day.
      Oh, do folks in Australia drink Tetley tea? I wondered if you saw the original run of commercials in the 1970s. The folk have been resurrected several times, but couldn’t find a video of the dance.

      Like

I love dialogue. Do you?

