The Stroll

photo-20151221094040602

photograph: Ethol Bagam

Her daily stroll. Plainly suited in woolen or linen. Seasoned and sensible. Only flashes of colour – her collection of umbrellas in shades from fuchsia to lavender and her wickedly gold-flecked green eyes.

Her route between two chain-link fences separating neighbour from reality. Backyard brushes with nature; halogen road lights multiple fullest moons.

“All pretense and subterfuge,” she thought. Dismissing with a shake of her head, “Creating false sense of security and serenity.”

“When I was young,” she mused, “and on the stroll, I was the unreal. The fake. I postured and strutted. Now, when I stroll, I am real – the world is pretense.”

She smiled, twirling her umbrella and clicking along her heels. “Hey, babe, take a walk on the wild side.” she hummed.*

Written for Flash Fiction for Aspiring Writers (fffaw) #45 (December 22, 2015)

From Lou Reed, Take a Walk on the Wild Side.

18 thoughts on “The Stroll

  1. Etol Bagam January 11, 2016 / 5:49 pm

    I like that she feels real. Nice one.

    Like

  2. samratkel December 23, 2015 / 1:55 am

    This is brilliant. Love the contrasts!!!

    Like

    • tale weaver/ing December 24, 2015 / 12:24 am

      Thank you.
      I liked playing with the contrasts and the way in which she and her world shifted.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. tjparis December 22, 2015 / 10:37 pm

    I love this piece. A wonderful combination of a simple act and deep thought. Thanks for inspiring! TJ

    Like

    • tale weaver/ing December 24, 2015 / 12:23 am

      Thank you for your kind words.
      The image could tell so many stories — I choose the one that clicked its heels in my head.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. mandibelle16 December 22, 2015 / 9:49 pm

    Great story. It’s interesting to note how she has changed her strolling from when she was young, to a world of pretense. Well written.

    Like

  5. Jael Aster December 22, 2015 / 9:46 pm

    This is Fabulous! I love the fence separating neighbor from reality, and the next part–that now she is real, the world pretense; and who doesn’t love that song!!! Marvelously done, Phylor! I may just have to write to this one….

    Like

    • tale weaver/ing December 24, 2015 / 12:21 am

      Isn’t Lou Reed’s song great!
      I hope you do decide to write to this. I’d love to read your take on the picture.

      Like

  6. summerstommy2 December 22, 2015 / 12:59 pm

    The short sharp sentences work so well. I like that she still as spark within her not accepting the thought of limitations. You provide us with such strong images, well done m y friend.

    Like

    • tale weaver/ing December 24, 2015 / 12:20 am

      Your use of the word “stroll” started me thinking of “on the stroll,” and well, a piece of flash fiction was born.
      Thanks for your kind comment.

      Liked by 1 person

  7. J.A. Prentice December 22, 2015 / 1:33 am

    I love your language. The short fragments really work well for the story.

    Like

    • tale weaver/ing December 23, 2015 / 6:51 am

      Thank you.
      The image made me think of foot steps clicking along — a pattern in language.

      Liked by 1 person

  8. Priceless Joy December 22, 2015 / 12:07 am

    Great story Phylor! I think now that she is “real” and no longer fake, she is ready to take a walk on the wild side! She seems pretty sure of herself now and that is good. Love it!

    Like

    • tale weaver/ing December 22, 2015 / 12:26 am

      Thanks, Joy.
      It’s been a while since I wrote something for FFFAW; felt good to do so again.
      Wishing you all the best of this special season, and for 2016.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Priceless Joy December 22, 2015 / 7:26 am

        Thank you and I wish you the best too! I was happy to see you join the challenge again.

        Like

I love dialogue. Do you?

