meep meep meep me mo!

beaker as bob dylan

Meep me me meep meep me me me meep mo mo, or wishing you all the best for 2016.

Beaker and I go way back – to his first appearances on the Muppet Show, mid-1970s. I cheered him on, knowing that his head was in science, but his heart was in acting.

We’ve lost touch over the years – it happens, I guess, even to the best of buds. Fame didn’t go to Beekie’s head; he remains humble, self-conscious, kind, and giving. We just don’t hang like we used to. No more late-night pizzas in Muppet Labs. No more Ed Wood movie marathons. No more beer and wings at a sports bar.

His return to television has him back in the spot light. Good for him. But, my heart remains broken – I can’t watch. Too many fond memories of days past. And isn’t that what new year’s eve remembories are. Images from our past. Ghosts that haunt or delight us.

I don’t follow tv much, so I don’t know how Beekie’s doing. I’m sure he’s giving his fine, Shakespearean-trained performances in his elegant, delicious voice. I want to share some videos from the old days – when Beaker and I hung on Friday’s @ Fridays. I decided to highlight Beaker’s musical and vocal talents. Unfortunately, just can’t find that old VHS with him crooning “Auld Lange Syne.”

Written for Mindlovemisery’s Menagerie Tale Weaver  #46: Creature Feature New Year

The Ballad of Beaker

Ode to Joy

Feelings

Ghost Hunters (Muppet Mobile Labs)

10 thoughts on “meep meep meep me mo!

  1. Bastet January 2, 2016 / 2:14 pm

    I remember Beaker fondly and it’s been forever since i’ve seen the Muppets … thanks for this lovely gift Phylor! hope your year has had a great beginning!

    Like

  2. summerstommy2 December 31, 2015 / 6:10 pm

    There’s a lovely bewildered innocence about Beaker isn’t there and in reality what couldn’t he do…sad the course of time has moved you away from him but I’m sure your memories are rich and lasting…

    Like

    • tale weaver/ing January 1, 2016 / 9:34 pm

      I do love the bewildered innocence of Beaker. There is something about that quality I find very attractive.

      Liked by 1 person

      • summerstommy2 January 1, 2016 / 9:37 pm

        I always had this urge to grab him and point him in the right direction or just leap to his aid…..sadly he has failure written all over him….

        Like

        • tale weaver/ing January 2, 2016 / 3:28 pm

          I think that’s why I like him — he rather reminds me of me (or is that meep of meep, lol).

          Liked by 1 person

  3. Sheri December 31, 2015 / 10:15 am

    Oh, I love Beaker!

    Like

I love dialogue. Do you?

