almond-coloured biscotti @ café 708

Copyright Jean L. Hays

Copyright Jean L. Hays (image from Friday Fictioneers)

Written for Color Your World: 120 Days of Crayola; Day One: almond and Friday Fictioneers, January 1, 2016

I dip my almond-coloured biscotti into the creamy, frothy top of my cappuccino. The murmur of conversations, the hiss and roar of the espresso machine huffing through another cup, scrape of chair against worn wooden floor, foot steps of deft wait staff. Familiar afternoon sounds. Wrapped around intoxicating smells of grinding coffee, and cinnamon buns just from the oven patiently waiting for their clothes of vanilla bean icing. The coloured shadow from stained glass window paints almond-coloured coffee cups on the floor. Café 708 is my sanctuary with almond biscotti on the side. {word count: 93; colour: almond}

22 thoughts on “almond-coloured biscotti @ café 708

  1. rogershipp January 9, 2016 / 7:29 pm

    I think I need another cup of coffee! GREAT descriptions!

    Like

  2. Margaret January 4, 2016 / 12:33 am

    Wonderfully evocative descriptions. Sounds like Cafe 708 has hit on a perfect formula.

    Like

    • tale weaver/ing January 7, 2016 / 12:29 am

      Thank you.
      Yes, it’s a place I would like to visit on a regular basis!

      Like

  3. Jennifer Nichole Wells January 2, 2016 / 10:32 pm

    Beautiful! I love that I can visualize the cafe through your words. So much going on and yet it still sounds quite peaceful.

    Like

  4. Bastet January 2, 2016 / 1:24 pm

    Ah girl, you’ve made my mouth water!

    Like

      • Bastet January 3, 2016 / 3:43 am

        I can imagine .. a scrumptious post but a terribly hard write with the tummy growling I think.

        Like

  5. lillian January 2, 2016 / 9:32 am

    Sinamon bun aroma will get me every time! (Misspelling intended!)

    Like

  6. patrickprinsloo January 2, 2016 / 8:40 am

    Love the sensory stuff. I’m in that place.
    (Footsteps – one word?)

    Like

    • tale weaver/ing January 2, 2016 / 3:27 pm

      Glad you were transported.
      Footsteps is no doubt one word. If it’s one, I tend to make it two, or vice versa.

      Like

  7. Dale January 1, 2016 / 5:54 pm

    Just a little too almondy! ;-)

    Like

    • tale weaver/ing January 1, 2016 / 9:29 pm

      Happens when taking the “easy” route of combining two prompts. Almond-coloured for one, cafes for another. ;-)

      Liked by 1 person

  8. Joy Pixley January 1, 2016 / 4:13 pm

    Mm, great use of visual and olfactory description — I feel like I’m there. And now I really want a cup of coffee and a cinnamon bun!

    Like

    • tale weaver/ing January 1, 2016 / 9:30 pm

      The image of the stained glass window put me right into the café. Cinnamon buns are a weakness of mine.

      Like

  9. Suzanne January 1, 2016 / 4:51 am

    I would loveh to visit such a cafe. Itvsiunds so relaxing.

    Like

    • tale weaver/ing January 1, 2016 / 9:31 pm

      I like places like that where I can sit back and people watch, write, and indulge in fancy coffee and cinnamon buns!

      Like

      • Suzanne January 1, 2016 / 10:38 pm

        Oh gosh. Sorry about my incomprehensible comment. I typed with one finger onto my tablet late at night. I must stop doing that :)

        Like

        • tale weaver/ing January 2, 2016 / 3:29 pm

          I understood your comment, and I’m not the best of typers at times — and I’m a trained typist!

          Liked by 1 person

I love dialogue. Do you?

