get me away from your mild side

(Madonna, 1980s wild side fashions)(Lou Reed’s song 1972)

‘Round here, babe, its all vanilla ice cream

It’s so beige and musak makes me wanna scream

God I hate living in a suburbanite’s wet dream

Get me away from

your mild side

Hey, why do ya think

I act like a wild child

I don’t want no walk

with no mild stride

I wanna be the town’s next outta here queen

Change my face, my name, where I’ve been

Hit the road til I find a really moving-it scene

Get me away from

your mild side

Hey, why do ya think

I act like a wild child

I don’t want no walk

with no mild stride

 

Written in response to Mindlovemisery’s Menagerie’s Friday Music #25 Prompt: Lou Reed, “Take a Walk on the Wild Side.”

12 thoughts on “get me away from your mild side

  1. Vagrant Rhodia January 21, 2016 / 1:20 pm

    Man, you brought me closer than I’d dare to the mind of a wild child :)

    Like

  2. wendy January 15, 2016 / 2:25 pm

    I like this. You know I’m a fan of The Wild Side.
    Reading this made me think of David Bowie…right now almost everything is making me think of David Bowie…but it makes me think of the “scandalous” photo of him and Lou Reed kissing. Well their lips are about to touch….geez.

    the mild side isn’t so bad….I think my wild these days wouldn’t be so wild.
    I’ve had enough wild days in my life.

    Like

    • tale weaver/ing January 16, 2016 / 2:25 am

      There’s still a wild child who’d like to get out; I don’t think she got the chance to play the way she wanted enough. Now, I’d let her out, but I don’t know what she’d be able to do.
      David Bowie bent all things — genre, gender, assumptions, definitions. That’s what I remember best. I’ve been listening to the early days — maybe that’s why my wild child is restless. Listening to Ziggy and Aladdin reminds her of one of her playgrounds.
      Glad you like the mild side — it’s easier on the mind, body and soul than the wild one.

      Liked by 2 people

      • wendy January 16, 2016 / 5:40 pm

        Oh my wild side got way too wild too often. The mild side is a relief…and hey if I wanted to be wild now there’s not much I could do about it huh? so why not be happy with what I have?
        sure sometimes I long for a wild ride, but it’d be a short one. ;-)

        Like

        • tale weaver/ing January 17, 2016 / 2:45 am

          Mild sides are fine when like comfy chairs and pjs. It’s when the mild mantle feels like a crinoline, scratching at you, that wild becomes more wistful and promising. But, even more potential for pain from the wild side now, than before. And, I’m not just talking about my heart or my soul, lol.

          Like

  3. julespaige January 15, 2016 / 10:55 am

    There are many who just want to leave the drabness of the suburbs. And yet the reverse can also be true…some tire of the city. I’ve been in many spheres. I like where I am now, but I will always be a rebel. :)

    Like

  4. summerstommy2 January 15, 2016 / 5:16 am

    I like your response….very much in keeping with the prompt ans I think you have included some rhythms within your poem…well done…..

    Like

    • tale weaver/ing January 15, 2016 / 6:28 am

      Thank you.
      I was trying for the feel of the lyrics; thinking about it from the perspective of someone who wanted to walk on the wild side.

      Liked by 1 person

I love dialogue. Do you?

