Love and the Met

Today is love is in da blog Travelling Thursday. This week, we’re tramping around “buildings we love.” And, I love the Metropolitan Museum of Art. When I had memberships, I’d just do wander. Up to the Roof Garden. The New American Wing. Special Exhibits. Egyptian Temple. Oceania Totems. And, then to see my love – Vincent van Gogh. The building without Vincent, just a slight brushstroke and marble statue less.

https://shar.es/14hFqg (a video about the museum: have to click the link)

Architect's Rendering of New Plaza

School GroupsTipsandPoliciesGuided Tours

           Visitors sitting under trees  European PaintingsLehman

The met (exhibitions) and The met (visit)

https://shar.es/14hK2f (a video about van Gogh and flowers; click the link, thanks)

Don McLean in 1972

Vincent (starry, starry night) with lyrics

the pensive prophetess (posed January 2, 2015)

The art museum was huge, having some of the largest collections of paintings, statuary, jewelry, ceramics and such in the world. Gallery opened onto gallery. You could loose yourself in the art or in the building.
I liked to wander with no clear plan. I might go from the Renaissance to Jackson Pollack. I felt like an explorer using a star chart.
If a painting caught my interest, there was a pattern. I went as close to the painting as allowed, taking in the brush strokes, colours, fine, small details. Then, I would walk backwards if the gallery were empty, or pace off distance if busy,  allowing the picture to visually grow.
I would find the nearest bench, and go into what friends called my pensive mode. I tilted my head to one side, almost placing it on my shoulder. The long braid of yellow hair centered down my back would fall to the side.
Deep in thought, I barely realized I brought a closed hand up to my chin, then unwinding two fingers, one placed on my mouth, the other on my cheek.
My eyes half closed, almost trance-like, I stared at my other hand, resting on my knee. My spine, slightly bent, my knees together, and my skirt or dress flowing towards the floor.
I might sit for minutes or hours; I never noted the time. Stretching like a cat, I would check how long before the museum closed.

Inspired by Tale Weaver’s prompt 41 “The Prophetess” for Mindlovemisery’s Menagerie January 2, 2015

 

3 thoughts on “Love and the Met

  1. Bee Halton February 11, 2016 / 5:37 am

    Oh that is so beautiful. One building and museum I would love to see :-). Thanks for sharing!

    Like

    • taleweavering February 12, 2016 / 6:48 am

      I do hope you get the chance someday. I know in Europe there are amazing museums (I’ve seen some), but to me the Met is really special.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Bee Halton February 13, 2016 / 5:02 am

        I bet you do. Museums are just lovely places to learn about things. I love the British Museum in London even though I hate to go to cities.

        Like

I love dialogue. Do you?

